Car Insurance in Nevada

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in Nevada.
  • How much does it car insurance cost in Nevada?
  • How much does it car insurance cost in Nevada?
  • How much does car insurance cost in your city?
  • How Much is Car Insurance in Nevada?
  • Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in Nevada
  • The Cheapest Car Insurance in Nevada
  • Most Popular Insurance Companies in Nevada
  • Cost to Insure Different Cars in Nevada
  • Car Insurance Laws in Nevada
  • Can You Drive a Car without Insurance in Nevada?
  • What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Nevada?
  • Car Registration Information in Nevada
  • Can You Drive a Car without Insurance in Nevada?
  • What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Nevada?

Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in Nevada.

Quote DateMake/modelcityAgeCarrierCoverage Type
Before Jerry
After Jerry
May 19, 2020Nissan Versa SLas Vegas47ClearcoverBasic$162$43
May 5, 2021Chevrolet TrackerLas Vegas60ProgressiveCustom$180$110
March 16, 2021Toyota PriusLas Vegas30National GeneralBasic$210$111
December 25, 2020Dodge Journey SXTLas Vegas40GainscoCurrent$154$114
January 25, 2021Mazda 3 TouringHenderson27KemperBasic$202$132

How much does it car insurance cost in Nevada?

All Coverage Before Jerry
All Coverage After Jerry
Minimum Coverage Before Jerry
Minimum Coverage After Jerry
Full Coverage Before Jerry
Full Coverage After Jerry
NV$2,324$1,554$1,744$849--
National Average$2,861$1,409$2,862$1,139$3,799$1,753

How much does it car insurance cost in Nevada?

Insurance Company
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Nationwide$1,713$987
Kemper$2,274$1,104
National General$2,520$1,332
Progressive$2,669$1,769
Allstate$2,898$2,118

How much does car insurance cost in your city?

City
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Winnemucca$2,124$624
Reno$1,192$772
North Las Vegas$2,106$1,254
Henderson$2,830$2,046
Las Vegas$3,289$2,108

BELOW ARE OLD CONTENT
Looking for car insurance in Nevada? Here you’ll find all the information you need on driving a car in The Silver State, regardless of what kind of car you own, what your budget is, or what kind of driver you are. Whether you live in Las Vegas or Henderson, Reno or Sparks — you can read on for the cheapest car insurance, the best car insurance, and the laws you need to know for Nevada car insurance.

How Much is Car Insurance in Nevada?

Why do car insurance quotes differ by state? First of all, each state has different laws around what kind of coverage you need to legally drive. Insurance companies also look at the number of car accidents and thefts in an area, how much people are generally using their car, and how likely an area is to have a natural disaster, among other factors. But while you can’t always control where you live, you can get cheap car insurance by choosing an insurance policy that has the best rates for your needs. If you live in Nevada, here’s what you should know about how much you’ll pay for insurance: On average, drivers in Nevada pay ${averageAnnualPremium} each year for car insurance. This means drivers in Nevada pay ${averageAnnualDiff} the average for the rest of the country. But however much you pay, you can use our advice on this page to save money.

What’s Your Rate?

But how do you know what policy is right for you in Nevada? The truth is that insurance companies take many different factors into account when coming up with your quote. They create a profile based not only on where you live in Nevada, but also on your credit score, marital status, the kind of car you own, and much more.
Not only does your profile change what kind of price you’ll get on car insurance, but it also might change the kind of coverage you want! Not all tiers are the same, and it’s important to know what you’re looking for. You could save money on your monthly or yearly insurance premiums by having a higher deductible. But if you do get into an accident or need to file a claim, that choice will cause you to pay more out of pocket.
The best way to make sure you’re always getting the best coverage for the right price is to let us do all the legwork for you. We can compare quotes from over 40 different insurance companies and find you the best rates in 45 seconds — no matter what kind of coverage you’re looking for.

Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in Nevada

CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2021-02-23
  • Mitsubishi Lancer Oz Rally
21 year old maleProgressive$189.67$130.33Standard
2021-01-11
  • Infiniti Fx45
  • Mitsubishi Lancer Gts
42 year old maleSun Coast General Insurance$90.83$236.17Basic
2020-12-18
  • Gmc Sierra K1500 Slt
29 year old maleProgressive$165.67$14.33Preferred
2021-02-18
  • Chevrolet Cobalt
55 year old maleNationwide$144$26.16Standard
2020-12-01
  • Chevrolet Equinox Lt
  • Mazda Mpv Wagon
33 year old femaleProgressive$150.50$49.50Standard

The Cheapest Car Insurance in Nevada

Which companies offer cheap car insurance in Nevada? Below, we’ve ranked Nevada car insurance companies based on which ones have, on average, the cheapest car insurance quotes for basic, standard, and preferred coverage levels for different profiles. These are averages to give you a sense of what drivers in your state are paying. But remember — it’s impossible to know what your quotes will be until you start comparing for yourself. That’s why we’re also showing you some real quotes we were able to find for our members recently. If you shop for insurance wisely, you can get a great deal without sacrificing your own safety and protection.

Cheapest Car Insurance in Nevada for Basic Coverage

There’s all kinds of auto insurance you can get in Nevada, depending on what your priorities are. But if your priority is the least expensive premium payments, you’ll want to check out a basic plan. In most states you legally need car insurance to drive. Basic plans ensure that you have the minimum coverage required by Nevada. These are also plans with liability-only coverage. We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for basic insurance coverage in Nevada, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Basic Coverage in Nevada

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Sun Coast General Insurance$1,024
2Mercury$1,213
3Nationwide$1,253
4Kemper$1,410
5Progressive$1,472

Real Jerry Quotes for Basic Coverage in Nevada

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-02-12
  • Dodge Journey Se
39 year old femaleNationwide$83.16$72.84
2021-02-19
  • Chevrolet Equinox Lt
  • Mazda Mpv Wagon
33 year old femaleNationwide$58.67$141.34
2020-12-25
  • Chevrolet Impala Limited Lt
28 year old maleKemper$142.50$152.50
2021-01-20
  • Lexus Rx 300
24 year old femaleSun Coast General Insurance$111.17$23.83
2021-01-12
  • Nissan Frontier S
  • Nissan Juke S
54 year old femaleMercury$61.83$138.17

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Plans in Nevada

Most drivers will want more than the basic minimum coverage that Nevada requires — but still don’t want to break the bank. Standard plans offer both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance which gives you more protection than a basic plan. These plans generally offer a $1,000 deductible.
Below you’ll find the average price drivers are paying for standard insurance coverage in Nevada, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner. All of these factors can impact premiums, so be sure to take a look at averages and quotes from drivers similar to you!

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Coverage in Nevada

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Sun Coast General Insurance$1,664
2Mercury$2,293
3Nationwide$2,319
4Progressive$2,432
5Travelers$2,952

Real Jerry Quotes for Standard Coverage in Nevada

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2020-12-24
  • Nissan Altima 2.5
  • Nissan Altima 3.5sl
28 year old femaleMercury$346.33$65.39
2021-02-24
  • Toyota Camry Ce
25 year old maleProgressive$103.83$26.17
2020-12-08
  • Dodge Caravan Se
  • Dodge Grand Caravan Se
40 year old femaleProgressive$116.83$48.17
2020-12-27
  • Honda Odyssey Ex
  • Kia Sportage
47 year old femaleSun Coast General Insurance$118.17$17.83
2021-01-20
  • Audi Q5 Prestige
33 year old femaleProgressive$65.67$46.33

Cheapest Car Insurance in Nevada for Preferred Coverage

Preferred coverage protects Nevada drivers the most against any accidents or theft. Like basic plans, you’ll have collision insurance and comprehensive insurance. This is higher end full coverage, generally with $500 deductibles. That means you’ll be paying less out of pocket in the event of a claim. The downside? Your premiums are likely to be higher than what drivers with standard plans are paying. But if you comparison shop, you can still find the preferred insurance policy that’s less expensive.
We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for preferred insurance coverage in Nevada, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your age, your driving record, whether you’re over or under 25 year old, the number of cars your drive, you gender, and if you own a home — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Preferred Coverage in Nevada

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Sun Coast General Insurance$1,711
2Progressive$2,416
3Mercury$2,642
4Nationwide$2,719
5Safeco$3,023
6Travelers$3,036

Real Jerry Quotes for Preferred Coverage in Nevada

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-02-12
  • Honda Prelude
21 year old maleSafeco$287.37$62.63
2021-02-05
  • Chevrolet Malibu Lt
39 year old femaleNationwide$335.99$70.01
2020-12-31
  • Ford F150 Supercrew
27 year old maleNationwide$114.27$135.73
2021-01-18
  • Kia Optima Lx
29 year old femaleMercury$264.33$110.67
2020-11-30
  • Hyundai Genesis 4.6l
20 year old maleMetlife$593.58$31.42
Insurance companyAverage annual premium in Nevada
Progressive$1,858.25
Mercury$2,721.33
Kemper$1,957.33
Nationwide$1,484.72
Travelers$2,149

Cost to Insure Different Cars in Nevada

Auto insurance companies look into several different factors when coming up with their rates. A big one is what state you’re in — which is why it’s so important for Nevada drivers to compare their rates to people in the same state. The car you drive can be a big factor as well. No matter what town, city, or country you live in, certain cars are just going to cost you more in coverage than others. Check out our chart to find out how much different cars cost to insure in Nevada. And you can use our table of real quotes from Jerry.ai customers to see what people just like you are paying.
Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2021-02-22
  • Ford Focus St
23 year old maleProgressive$94$156Basic
2020-12-14
  • Honda Accord Value
29 year old maleMercury$131.67$34.33Standard
2020-11-20
  • Chevrolet Malibu Lt
33 year old femaleProgressive$89.33$75.67Basic
2020-12-20
  • Kia Sorento Lx
37 year old femaleNationwide$266.29$198.71Preferred
2021-01-25
  • Ford Focus Sel
52 year old femaleKemper$113.83$16.17Basic
2021-02-17
  • Chevrolet Traverse Ls
56 year old femaleNationwide$201.23$78.77Standard
2020-12-25
  • Mitsubishi Outlander Se
29 year old maleNationwide$175.42$157.58Preferred

Car Insurance Laws in Nevada

From the Las Vegas Strip to the Grand Canyon, there’s a lot to see in Nevada. Traffic can get pretty crazy in urban areas, plus visitors and residents alike can be distracted by all the incredible sights, so car accidents are not uncommon. Just as in other states, Nevada maintains laws that dictate how much car insurance every driver needs to have on their vehicle. Here’s what you need to know about auto insurance coverage in Nevada.

What Car Insurance is Required BY Law in Nevada?

Prior to registering a motor vehicle in the state of Nevada, you have to show proof of insurance to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles. You must carry both Personal Injury Protection (PIP) as well as Property Damage Liability (PDL).
The state of Nevada moved from a no-fault state decades ago and is now an at-fault state. That means that financial responsibility for an accident lies with the driver who caused it. PIP insurance is intended to provide medical coverage for other individuals involved in the car accident who may have been injured or worse. PIP coverages are often used to cover costs associated with an ambulance ride, medications, lost wages, and follow-up doctor appointments related to the accident.
PDL coverage is intended to pay for any resulting property damage that may come about in an accident. It’s rather broad coverage, typically, and can often be used to help pay for damage to the other vehicle, a stationary object like a fence or light post, or a building that has been directly involved.
Nevada also strongly encourages drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage. This type of insurance helps pay for expenses related to a car accident in which the other driver does not have the minimum coverage to legally drive. You can opt out of uninsured motorist coverage, though. Another type of insurance that drivers can consider (but is also not required by law) is underinsured motorist coverage. In the event that damage exceeds the insurance coverage caused by the other driver, your insurance can help cover the spread.

Can You Drive a Car without Insurance in Nevada?

If you wish to drive a car in Nevada, it must be insured. For residents, insurance must be held within the state. Being caught without proper insurance will result in your registration being suspended as well as a fine. In Nevada, fines are tiered based on the number of offenses:
  • For the first offense, a reinstatement fee of $251 is required if insurance has lapsed from 1-30 days. An additional fine of $250 is levied for policies lapsed 31-90 days. A fine of $500 to $1000 is levied if it has lapsed beyond 90 days, and an SR-22 certificate is required.
  • For a second offense, the reinstatement fee increases to $501 and the fine increases to $500 minimum if the policy has lapsed more than 30 days.
  • A third offense finds the reinstatement fee increase to $751, SR-22 insurance mandatory, and a minimum 30-day driver’s license suspension is assessed.
Other penalties may be required to reinstate a driver’s license as well as court costs and penalties beyond that assessed by the DMV. Proof of insurance is required whenever you drive in Nevada. You must either carry an insurance card in the car or provide electronic proof on your mobile device. If you’re showing electronic evidence, it must be sent directly from the insurance company and include all the same information found on a physical card.

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Nevada?

Nevada enforces minimum insurance coverage for all drivers. The purpose is to protect the driver and any motorists, pedestrians, and property owners around them in the event of an accident against injury and property damage. To legally drive in Nevada, you must carry the following minimum auto insurance coverages.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Nevada
  • Bodily injury coverage per person per accident: $25,000
  • Bodily injury coverage per accident: $50,000
  • Property damage liability coverage per accident: $20,000

Car Registration Information in Nevada

From the Las Vegas Strip to the Grand Canyon, there’s a lot to see in Nevada. Traffic can get pretty crazy in urban areas, plus visitors and residents alike can be distracted by all the incredible sights, so car accidents are not uncommon. Just as in other states, Nevada maintains laws that dictate how much car insurance every driver needs to have on their vehicle. Here’s what you need to know about auto insurance coverage in Nevada.

What Car Insurance is Required BY Law in Nevada?

Prior to registering a motor vehicle in the state of Nevada, you have to show proof of insurance to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles. You must carry both Personal Injury Protection (PIP) as well as Property Damage Liability (PDL).
The state of Nevada moved from a no-fault state decades ago and is now an at-fault state. That means that financial responsibility for an accident lies with the driver who caused it. PIP insurance is intended to provide medical coverage for other individuals involved in the car accident who may have been injured or worse. PIP coverages are often used to cover costs associated with an ambulance ride, medications, lost wages, and follow-up doctor appointments related to the accident.
PDL coverage is intended to pay for any resulting property damage that may come about in an accident. It’s rather broad coverage, typically, and can often be used to help pay for damage to the other vehicle, a stationary object like a fence or light post, or a building that has been directly involved.
Nevada also strongly encourages drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage. This type of insurance helps pay for expenses related to a car accident in which the other driver does not have the minimum coverage to legally drive. You can opt out of uninsured motorist coverage, though. Another type of insurance that drivers can consider (but is also not required by law) is underinsured motorist coverage. In the event that damage exceeds the insurance coverage caused by the other driver, your insurance can help cover the spread.

Can You Drive a Car without Insurance in Nevada?

If you wish to drive a car in Nevada, it must be insured. For residents, insurance must be held within the state. Being caught without proper insurance will result in your registration being suspended as well as a fine. In Nevada, fines are tiered based on the number of offenses:
  • For the first offense, a reinstatement fee of $251 is required if insurance has lapsed from 1-30 days. An additional fine of $250 is levied for policies lapsed 31-90 days. A fine of $500 to $1000 is levied if it has lapsed beyond 90 days, and an SR-22 certificate is required.
  • For a second offense, the reinstatement fee increases to $501 and the fine increases to $500 minimum if the policy has lapsed more than 30 days.
  • A third offense finds the reinstatement fee increase to $751, SR-22 insurance mandatory, and a minimum 30-day driver’s license suspension is assessed.
Other penalties may be required to reinstate a driver’s license as well as court costs and penalties beyond that assessed by the DMV. Proof of insurance is required whenever you drive in Nevada. You must either carry an insurance card in the car or provide electronic proof on your mobile device. If you’re showing electronic evidence, it must be sent directly from the insurance company and include all the same information found on a physical card.

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Nevada?

Nevada enforces minimum insurance coverage for all drivers. The purpose is to protect the driver and any motorists, pedestrians, and property owners around them in the event of an accident against injury and property damage. To legally drive in Nevada, you must carry the following minimum auto insurance coverages.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Nevada
  • Bodily injury coverage per person per accident: $25,000
  • Bodily injury coverage per accident: $50,000
  • Property damage liability coverage per accident: $20,000

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies