Car Insurance in Kansas

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in Kansas.
  • How much does it car insurance cost in Kansas?
  • How much does it car insurance cost in Kansas?
  • How much does car insurance cost in your city?
  • How Much is Car Insurance in Kansas?
  • Real Quotes for Jerry Customers in Kansas
  • The Cheapest Car Insurance in Kansas
  • Most Popular Insurance Companies in Kansas
  • Cost to Insure Different Cars in Kansas
  • Car Insurance Laws in Kansas
  • What Car Insurance Is Required in Kansas?
  • Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance in Kansas?
  • What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Kansas?
  • Car Registration Information in Kansas

Also can pointing to cheap state when ‘cheap state’ is true

We can have a ‘count’ param to control how many states we want to display.

annually Premium: $1,741.64
annually Premium For FullCoverage: $2,105.50
national Annually Premium For BasicCoverage: $1,691.02
national Annually Premium For FullCoverage: $2,448.31
annually Premium For 18: $1,939.59
annually Premium For 35: $1,461.94
difference Between 18And35: 32.67%

BELOW ARE OLD CONTENT

Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in Kansas.

Quote DateMake/modelcityAgeCarrierCoverage Type
Before Jerry
After Jerry
July 21, 2021GMC Acadia Slt-2Gardner32ProgressiveStandard$98$61
May 30, 2021Honda Accord LXMission26
Bristol West
Custom$128$62
May 28, 2021Ford Explorer SportOverland Park23AllstateCurrent$105$64
February 14, 2021Chevrolet ImpalaKansas City41SafecoCustom$250$76
June 6, 2021Ford Focus SManhattan19
Dairyland
Custom$232$97

How much does it car insurance cost in Kansas?

All Coverage Before Jerry
All Coverage After Jerry
Minimum Coverage Before Jerry
Minimum Coverage After Jerry
Full Coverage Before Jerry
Full Coverage After Jerry
KS$2,047$1,413$1,705$967$1,978$888
National Average$2,524$1,697$2,409$1,430$2,840$2,029

How much does it car insurance cost in Kansas?

Insurance Company
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Allstate$1,260$792
Nationwide$2,239$1,570
Safeco$3,559$1,904
State Auto
$2,733$1,953
Dairyland
$3,869$1,999
Travelers$2,982$2,138

How much does car insurance cost in your city?

City
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Topeka$2,335$1,435

BELOW ARE OLD CONTENT
Looking for car insurance in Kansas? Here you’ll find all the information you need on driving a car in The Sunflower State, regardless of what kind of car you own, what your budget is, or what kind of driver you are. Whether you live in Wichita or Overland Park, Kansas City or Olathe — you can read on for the cheapest car insurance, the best car insurance, and the laws you need to know for Kansas car insurance.

How Much is Car Insurance in Kansas?

Why do car insurance quotes differ by state? First of all, each state has different laws around what kind of coverage you need to legally drive. Insurance companies also look at the number of car accidents and thefts in an area, how much people are generally using their car, and how likely an area is to have a natural disaster, among other factors. But while you can’t always control where you live, you can get cheap car insurance by choosing an insurance policy that has the best rates for your needs. If you live in Kansas, here’s what you should know about how much you’ll pay for insurance: On average, drivers in Kansas pay ${averageAnnualPremium} each year for car insurance. This means drivers in Kansas pay ${averageAnnualDiff} the average for the rest of the country. But however much you pay, you can use our advice on this page to save money.
Compare cheapest car insurance in Kansas
Compare cheapest car insurance in Kansas
Find savings (100% Free)

What’s Your Rate?

But how do you know what policy is right for you in Kansas? The truth is that insurance companies take many different factors into account when coming up with your quote. They create a profile based not only on where you live in Kansas, but also on your credit score, marital status, the kind of car you own, and much more.
Not only does your profile change what kind of price you’ll get on car insurance, but it also might change the kind of coverage you want! Not all tiers are the same, and it’s important to know what you’re looking for. You could save money on your monthly or yearly insurance premiums by having a higher deductible. But if you do get into an accident or need to file a claim, that choice will cause you to pay more out of pocket.
The best way to make sure you’re always getting the best coverage for the right price is to let us do all the legwork for you. We can compare quotes from over 40 different insurance companies and find you the best rates in 45 seconds — no matter what kind of coverage you’re looking for.

Real Quotes for Jerry Customers in Kansas

CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
December 31, 2020
  • Chevrolet Impala Limited Ls
34 year old maleNationwide$110.23$30.77Standard
February 1, 2021
  • Toyota Camry Le
21 year old femaleTravelers$185.33$151.44Preferred
November 21, 2020
  • Ford Escape Titanium
30 year old femaleProgressive$65$45Preferred
January 12, 2021
  • Nissan Maxima 3.5s
59 year old femaleNationwide$120.39$229.61Preferred
December 7, 2020
  • Toyota Tacoma Double Cab
  • Subaru Xv Crosstrek 2.0 Premium
24 year old maleNationwide$177$63Preferred

The Cheapest Car Insurance in Kansas

Which companies offer cheap car insurance in Kansas? Below, we’ve ranked Kansas car insurance companies based on which ones have, on average, the cheapest car insurance quotes for basic, standard, and preferred coverage levels for different profiles. These are averages to give you a sense of what drivers in your state are paying. But remember — it’s impossible to know what your quotes will be until you start comparing for yourself. That’s why we’re also showing you some real quotes we were able to find for our members recently. If you shop for insurance wisely, you can get a great deal without sacrificing your own safety and protection.
Compare cheapest car insurance in Kansas
Compare cheapest car insurance in Kansas
Find savings (100% Free)

Cheapest Car Insurance in Kansas for Basic Coverage

There’s all kinds of auto insurance you can get in Kansas, depending on what your priorities are. But if your priority is the least expensive premium payments, you’ll want to check out a basic plan. In most states you legally need car insurance to drive. Basic plans ensure that you have the minimum coverage required by Kansas. These are also plans with liability-only coverage. We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for basic insurance coverage in Kansas, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Basic Coverage in Kansas

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Progressive$886
2Bristol West$995

Real Jerry Quotes for Basic Coverage in Kansas

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
January 10, 2021
  • Chevrolet Impala Ls
  • Volkswagen Beetle 1.8t
  • Kia Soul +
  • Nissan Frontier Crew Cab Se
23 year old femaleNationwide$101.19$278.81
December 6, 2020
  • Toyota Yaris L
  • Dodge Ram 1500 St
21 year old femaleProgressive$68$80
January 4, 2021
  • Ford F150 Supercrew
  • Land Rover Range Rover Hse
  • Lincoln Mkz Hybrid
  • Honda Insight
52 year old femaleProgressive$57$303
December 20, 2020
  • Nissan Maxima Gxe
  • Buick Lesabre Custom
  • Ford Fusion S
  • Ram 1500 Big Horn/lone Star
44 year old maleSafe Auto$275.83$179.45
December 17, 2020
  • Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport
  • Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
29 year old maleProgressive$51.50$39.50

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Plans in Kansas

Most drivers will want more than the basic minimum coverage that Kansas requires — but still don’t want to break the bank. Standard plans offer both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance which gives you more protection than a basic plan. These plans generally offer a $1,000 deductible.
Below you’ll find the average price drivers are paying for standard insurance coverage in Kansas, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner. All of these factors can impact premiums, so be sure to take a look at averages and quotes from drivers similar to you!

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Coverage in Kansas

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Nationwide$1,343
2State Auto$1,382
3Progressive$1,476
4Travelers$1,670
5Safeco$2,630

Real Jerry Quotes for Standard Coverage in Kansas

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
February 12, 2021
  • Ford Mustang
  • Toyota Corolla Eco
25 year old femaleProgressive$181.17$41.83
November 19, 2020
  • Chevrolet Cobalt Ls
  • Dodge Ram 1500
29 year old maleProgressive$109.17$90.83
January 8, 2021
  • Chevrolet Impala Limited Ltz
31 year old maleProgressive$65.33$81.67
February 21, 2021
  • Ford Edge Sport
37 year old maleNationwide$92.83$54.17
January 12, 2021
  • Subaru Impreza
38 year old femaleTravelers$73$102

Cheapest Car Insurance in Kansas for Preferred Coverage

Preferred coverage protects Kansas drivers the most against any accidents or theft. Like basic plans, you’ll have collision insurance and comprehensive insurance. This is higher end full coverage, generally with $500 deductibles. That means you’ll be paying less out of pocket in the event of a claim. The downside? Your premiums are likely to be higher than what drivers with standard plans are paying. But if you comparison shop, you can still find the preferred insurance policy that’s less expensive.
We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for preferred insurance coverage in Kansas, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your age, your driving record, whether you’re over or under 25 year old, the number of cars your drive, you gender, and if you own a home — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Preferred Coverage in Kansas

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Nationwide$1,580
2Progressive$1,580
3State Auto$1,649
4Travelers$2,036
5Safeco$3,075

Real Jerry Quotes for Preferred Coverage in Kansas

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
November 21, 2020
  • Ford Focus Zx4
  • Subaru Outback 2.5i
  • Dodge Ram 1500
  • Ford Focus Zx3 Svt
43 year old femaleProgressive$143.50$79.71
January 4, 2021
  • Kia Soul
  • Chrysler Pt Cruiser
26 year old maleProgressive$162$158
February 11, 2021
  • Chevrolet Cobalt Lt
22 year old maleNationwide$147.63$132.37
February 8, 2021
  • Ford Focus Se
30 year old maleProgressive$104$67
February 2, 2021
  • Chevrolet Silverado C1500 Lt
31 year old maleNationwide$111.41$18.60
Insurance companyAverage annual premium in Kansas
Progressive$1,465.68
Bristol West$804.73
Dairyland$1,966.89
AAA$398
Safeco$1,978.20
Kemper$1,507
Travelers$3,260

Cost to Insure Different Cars in Kansas

Auto insurance companies look into several different factors when coming up with their rates. A big one is what state you’re in — which is why it’s so important for Kansas drivers to compare their rates to people in the same state. The car you drive can be a big factor as well. No matter what town, city, or country you live in, certain cars are just going to cost you more in coverage than others. Check out our chart to find out how much different cars cost to insure in Kansas. And you can use our table of real quotes from Jerry customers to see what people just like you are paying.
Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
December 19, 2020
  • Subaru Impreza
29 year old maleProgressive$70.17$70.83Preferred
February 13, 2021
  • Ford Mustang
30 year old femaleProgressive$111.17$128.83Preferred
February 23, 2021
  • Ram 1500 Sport
27 year old maleProgressive$154.67$127.33Preferred
January 22, 2021
  • Ford Fusion Titanium/platinum Hev
22 year old maleState Auto$145.16$51.84Standard
December 19, 2020
  • Ford F150 Supercrew
21 year old maleTravelers$142.08$97.92Preferred
January 31, 2021
  • Chevrolet Silverado K1500 Lt
21 year old maleProgressive$56$74Basic
December 31, 2020
  • Hyundai Sonata Sport
22 year old maleProgressive$60.17$106.50Basic

Car Insurance Laws in Kansas

Car Insurance Laws in Kansas

With more than 58,000 car accidents a year, Kansas has laws in place to ensure that the costs for injuries and property damage are covered in an accident. If you live and drive in the Sunflower State, here’s what you should know about the minimum insurance you’re required to have.

What Car Insurance Is Required in Kansas?

All motor vehicle drivers who are licensed to drive in the state of Kansas must carry a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage. They must also be able to show proof of this insurance if they are in an accident or pulled over by law enforcement.
To drive in Kansas, you must have Bodily Injury Liability (BIL). BIL pays for the other driver’s medical bills and other costs associated with a car accident you caused. BIL also pays for any lost wages suffered by the other driver due to an accident that caused by you.
Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage pays for any property damage you cause in an accident that you are at-fault for. This protection extends to the other vehicle involved in the accident, as well as any objects, such as a fence, pole, or building, that is damaged in an accident that you are at-fault for.
Drivers in Kansas are also responsible for purchasing Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. PIP coverage pays your medical expenses if you are at fault in an accident. When purchasing PIP insurance, there are a variety of minimum benefit amounts that you have to meet, including for medical expenses, lost wages, funeral expenses, and other expenses.
You must also purchase uninsured motorist coverage if you are a driver in Kansas. Uninsured motorists coverage is designed to pay for your medical bills and car damage if the at-fault driver is not insured. In the same way, underinsured motorist insurance pays for your medical expenses and property damage if the at-fault driver does not have enough coverage to pay for everything.

Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance in Kansas?

If you are a driver in Kansas, you must, by law, have a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage on your vehicle. Failure to have this insurance or to show proof of insurance when pulled over or following an accident can result in various penalties and fines. When presenting proof of insurance, you can do so with either physical or electronic proof.
Penalties for a first offense include a $300 to $1,000 fine, jail time of up to six months, suspension of your license and registration, and a $100 reinstatement fee; you must also file for an SR-22 certificate and keep it on file for three years.
For a second offense, you have to pay a fine ranging from $800 to $2,500, up to one year in jail, suspension of your license and registration, a $300 reinstatement fee, and have to file an SR-22 certificate for three years.
For any additional violations, you must pay a fine ranging from $800 to $2,500, can end up in jail for one to two years, have your license revoked for three years, have to pay a $300 reinstatement fee, and have to file an SR-22 certificate for three years.

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Kansas?

The insurance minimum requirements are in place to help curtail the costs associated with a car accident, including medical expenses and property damage. The minimum insurance you are required to have in Kansas can be found below.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Kansas
  • Bodily injury/per person/per accident: $25,000
  • Bodily injury/per accident: $50,000
  • Property damage liability: $25,000
  • Personal injury protection/per person/medical expenses: $4,500
  • Personal injury protection/one year for disability and loss of income: $900/month
  • Personal injury protection/in-home services: $25/day
  • Personal injury protection/funeral, burial, or cremation expenses: $2,000
  • Personal injury protection/rehabilitation: $4,500
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage/per person/per accident: $15,000
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage/per accident: $30,000

Car Registration Information in Kansas

Another thing to keep in mind is that in addition to having the required amount of insurance, you must also register your car. When buying a car in Kansas as a resident, you have 60 days to register the vehicle. When moving to Kansas, you have 90 days to register your vehicle.
Upon registering your vehicle in Kansas, you will receive a license plate for the rear of your vehicle. The license plate also has a decal in the upper right that shows the month and year that you have to renew the registration. The month when you must renew your registration is based on the first letter of your last name.
  • January 15 through February 28: Letter A
  • February 15 through March 31: Letter B
  • March 15 through April 30: Letters C, D
  • April 15 through May 31: Letters E-G
  • May 15 through June 30th: Letters H, I
  • June 15 through July 31: Letters J-L
  • July 15 through August 31: Letters M-O
  • August 15 through September 30: Letters P-R
  • September 15 through October 31: Letter S
  • October 15 through November 30: Letters T, V, and W
  • November 15 through December 31: Letters U, X, Y, and Z
Keep in mind that there is no grace period. You can renew your registration starting on the 15 of the month and have until the last day of the month to complete your registration renewal.
When registering your vehicle in Kansas, you will need to pay an initial registration fee of $42.50 for passenger vehicles weighing 4,500 pounds or less, or $52.25 for passenger vehicles weighing more than 4,500 pounds. You must also add any applicable vehicle property tax.
You can register your vehicle at your local Kansas county treasurer’s office, through the mail, online through the iKan website, or through the iKan mobile app. To get the app, visit the Google Play store or the Apple Store.
Here are the documents you need to register your vehicle in Kansas:
  • Kansas driver’s license
  • Motor Vehicle Examination Certificate — used to verify your Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
  • Vehicle registration (if transferring from another state)
  • Proof of car insurance
  • Certificate of title (if you own the vehicle)
Compare cheapest car insurance in Kansas
Compare cheapest car insurance in Kansas
Find savings (100% Free)

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies