Car Insurance in Louisiana

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in Louisiana.
  • How much does it car insurance cost in Louisiana?
  • How much does it car insurance cost in Louisiana?
  • How much does car insurance cost in your city?
  • How Much is Car Insurance in Louisiana?
  • Real Quotes for Jerry Customers in Louisiana
  • The Cheapest Car Insurance in Louisiana
  • Most Popular Insurance Companies in Louisiana
  • Cost to Insure Different Cars in Louisiana
  • Car Insurance Laws in Louisiana
  • What Car Insurance Is Required in Louisiana?
  • Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance in Louisiana?
  • What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Louisiana?
  • Car Registration Information in Louisiana

Also can pointing to cheap state when ‘cheap state’ is true

We can have a ‘count’ param to control how many states we want to display.

annually Premium: $2,417.30
annually Premium For FullCoverage: $3,840.79
national Annually Premium For BasicCoverage: $1,691.50
national Annually Premium For FullCoverage: $2,445.89
annually Premium For 18: $3,355.70
annually Premium For 35: $1,937.98
difference Between 18And35: 73.15%

BELOW ARE OLD CONTENT

Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in Louisiana.

Quote DateMake/modelcityAgeCarrierCoverage Type
Before Jerry
After Jerry
June 14, 2021Ford RangerRagley38
Bristol West
Basic$145$69
July 21, 2021Ram 1500 STScott35
National General
Current$192$111
July 21, 2021Ram 1500 STScott35ProgressiveCurrent$192$131
June 13, 2021Jeep Liberty SportNew Orleans28
Kemper
Custom$233$155
June 25, 2021Ford MustangLafayette38
ClearCover
Predicted$225$169

How much does it car insurance cost in Louisiana?

All Coverage Before Jerry
All Coverage After Jerry
Minimum Coverage Before Jerry
Minimum Coverage After Jerry
Full Coverage Before Jerry
Full Coverage After Jerry
LA$3,105$2,126$2,401$1,397$4,963$3,813
National Average$2,527$1,697$2,426$1,436$2,845$2,035

How much does it car insurance cost in Louisiana?

Insurance Company
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Allstate$3,943$2,296
National General
$3,310$2,442
Kemper
$3,556$2,636
Safeco$3,984$3,575

How much does car insurance cost in your city?

City
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Baton Rouge$4,290$3,333
Metairie$2,548$2,081
Pearl River$4,170$2,133
Shreveport$3,068$2,081
Slidell$3,934$2,729

BELOW ARE OLD CONTENT
Looking for car insurance in Louisiana? Here you’ll find all the information you need on driving a car in The Pelican State, regardless of what kind of car you own, what your budget is, or what kind of driver you are. Whether you live in New Orleans or Baton Rouge, Shreveport or Metairie — you can read on for the cheapest car insurance, the best car insurance, and the laws you need to know for Louisiana car insurance.

How Much is Car Insurance in Louisiana?

Why do car insurance quotes differ by state? First of all, each state has different laws around what kind of coverage you need to legally drive. Insurance companies also look at the number of car accidents and thefts in an area, how much people are generally using their car, and how likely an area is to have a natural disaster, among other factors. But while you can’t always control where you live, you can get cheap car insurance by choosing an insurance policy that has the best rates for your needs. If you live in Louisiana, here’s what you should know about how much you’ll pay for insurance: On average, drivers in Louisiana pay ${averageAnnualPremium} each year for car insurance. This means drivers in Louisiana pay ${averageAnnualDiff} the average for the rest of the country. But however much you pay, you can use our advice on this page to save money.
Compare cheapest car insurance in Louisiana
Compare cheapest car insurance in Louisiana
Find savings (100% Free)

What’s Your Rate?

But how do you know what policy is right for you in Louisiana? The truth is that insurance companies take many different factors into account when coming up with your quote. They create a profile based not only on where you live in Louisiana, but also on your credit score, marital status, the kind of car you own, and much more.
Not only does your profile change what kind of price you’ll get on car insurance, but it also might change the kind of coverage you want! Not all tiers are the same, and it’s important to know what you’re looking for. You could save money on your monthly or yearly insurance premiums by having a higher deductible. But if you do get into an accident or need to file a claim, that choice will cause you to pay more out of pocket.
The best way to make sure you’re always getting the best coverage for the right price is to let us do all the legwork for you. We can compare quotes from over 40 different insurance companies and find you the best rates in 45 seconds — no matter what kind of coverage you’re looking for.

Real Quotes for Jerry Customers in Louisiana

CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
February 18, 2021
  • Nissan Frontier Crew Cab Le
41 year old maleNational General$50.42$219.58Basic
February 23, 2021
  • Hyundai Elantra Gls
51 year old maleNational General$179.92$31.08Preferred
December 31, 2020
  • Ford Five Hundred Sel
37 year old femaleNational General$55.75$226.25Basic
February 20, 2021
  • Honda Accord Ex
  • Mercedes-benz Cla 250
  • Dodge Challenger R/t 392
  • Gmc New Sierra C1500 Denali
35 year old maleProgressive$101.17$432.83Basic
February 21, 2021
  • Chevrolet Silverado C1500
37 year old maleProgressive$99$132Standard

The Cheapest Car Insurance in Louisiana

Which companies offer cheap car insurance in Louisiana? Below, we’ve ranked Louisiana car insurance companies based on which ones have, on average, the cheapest car insurance quotes for basic, standard, and preferred coverage levels for different profiles. These are averages to give you a sense of what drivers in your state are paying. But remember — it’s impossible to know what your quotes will be until you start comparing for yourself. That’s why we’re also showing you some real quotes we were able to find for our members recently. If you shop for insurance wisely, you can get a great deal without sacrificing your own safety and protection.
Compare cheapest car insurance in Louisiana
Compare cheapest car insurance in Louisiana
Find savings (100% Free)

Cheapest Car Insurance in Louisiana for Basic Coverage

There’s all kinds of auto insurance you can get in Louisiana, depending on what your priorities are. But if your priority is the least expensive premium payments, you’ll want to check out a basic plan. In most states you legally need car insurance to drive. Basic plans ensure that you have the minimum coverage required by Louisiana. These are also plans with liability-only coverage. We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for basic insurance coverage in Louisiana, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Basic Coverage in Louisiana

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1National General$910
2Progressive$1,156
3CLEARCOVER$1,212
4Kemper$1,281

Real Jerry Quotes for Basic Coverage in Louisiana

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
January 5, 2021
  • Dodge Grand Caravan Sxt
  • Chevrolet Tahoe C1500 Ltz
  • Dodge Ram 1500
53 year old maleKemper$128$131
December 9, 2020
  • Honda Accord Se
  • Ford Expedition Xlt
32 year old femaleNational General$75.92$364.08
December 14, 2020
  • Dodge Grand Caravan Sxt
35 year old femaleNational General$52.08$61.92
November 17, 2020
  • Dodge Dakota
  • Chrysler 300 Touring
  • Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo
  • Buick Lacrosse
58 year old maleProgressive$85.67$342.33
December 21, 2020
  • Nissan Kicks S
44 year old maleNational General$63.17$316.83

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Plans in Louisiana

Most drivers will want more than the basic minimum coverage that Louisiana requires — but still don’t want to break the bank. Standard plans offer both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance which gives you more protection than a basic plan. These plans generally offer a $1,000 deductible.
Below you’ll find the average price drivers are paying for standard insurance coverage in Louisiana, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner. All of these factors can impact premiums, so be sure to take a look at averages and quotes from drivers similar to you!

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Coverage in Louisiana

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Kemper$1,916
2National General$2,157
3Progressive$2,775
4CLEARCOVER$2,903

Real Jerry Quotes for Standard Coverage in Louisiana

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
February 19, 2021
  • Jeep Wrangler Unlimited X
31 year old femaleKemper$191.67$208.33
February 16, 2021
  • Gmc Acadia Slt-1
35 year old femaleKemper$120.17$42.83
January 5, 2021
  • Nissan Versa S
45 year old femaleNational General$203.58$71.42
December 23, 2020
  • Kia Optima Lx
24 year old femaleCLEARCOVER$132.50$17.50
January 3, 2021
  • Nissan Altima Sl
20 year old maleCLEARCOVER$408.33$43.67

Cheapest Car Insurance in Louisiana for Preferred Coverage

Preferred coverage protects Louisiana drivers the most against any accidents or theft. Like basic plans, you’ll have collision insurance and comprehensive insurance. This is higher end full coverage, generally with $500 deductibles. That means you’ll be paying less out of pocket in the event of a claim. The downside? Your premiums are likely to be higher than what drivers with standard plans are paying. But if you comparison shop, you can still find the preferred insurance policy that’s less expensive.
We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for preferred insurance coverage in Louisiana, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your age, your driving record, whether you’re over or under 25 year old, the number of cars your drive, you gender, and if you own a home — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Preferred Coverage in Louisiana

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1National General$2,367
2CLEARCOVER$2,795
3Progressive$3,280

Real Jerry Quotes for Preferred Coverage in Louisiana

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
January 26, 2021
  • Chevrolet Trailblazer Ls
29 year old femaleCLEARCOVER$169.33$20.67
January 12, 2021
  • Ford F150 Supercrew
49 year old maleProgressive$142.67$124
November 30, 2020
  • Hyundai Tucson Gls
23 year old maleCLEARCOVER$470.67$24.33
December 16, 2020
  • Ford Fusion Sel
24 year old femaleProgressive$439.50$76.50
January 13, 2021
  • Chevrolet Malibu Ls
  • Dodge Journey Se
38 year old maleNational General$248.42$136.58
Insurance companyAverage annual premium in Louisiana
Progressive$2,190.65
National General$2,611.08
ClearCover$2,234.64
Kemper$3,038.33
Bristol West$3,392
Allstate$1,009.66

Cost to Insure Different Cars in Louisiana

Auto insurance companies look into several different factors when coming up with their rates. A big one is what state you’re in — which is why it’s so important for Louisiana drivers to compare their rates to people in the same state. The car you drive can be a big factor as well. No matter what town, city, or country you live in, certain cars are just going to cost you more in coverage than others. Check out our chart to find out how much different cars cost to insure in Louisiana. And you can use our table of real quotes from Jerry customers to see what people just like you are paying.
Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
January 30, 2021
  • Infiniti Q50 Premium
38 year old femaleNational General$174.75$25.25Basic
January 26, 2021
  • Volkswagen Beetle S
64 year old femaleNational General$118.75$80.25Standard
November 23, 2020
  • Dodge Challenger Sxt Plus
26 year old maleNational General$78$88.56Basic
November 30, 2020
  • Hyundai Tucson Gls
23 year old maleCLEARCOVER$470.67$24.33Preferred
January 10, 2021
  • Nissan Altima 2.5
22 year old maleNational General$105.25$105.75Basic
February 6, 2021
  • Toyota Rav4 Sport
20 year old femaleProgressive$251.67$78.33Standard
January 1, 2021
  • Nissan Altima 2.5
22 year old femaleNational General$93.25$246.75Basic

Car Insurance Laws in Louisiana

Car Insurance Laws in Louisiana

The state of Louisiana is ranked as second on the list of states with the least skilled drivers. This equates to more car accidents, which can really drive up the cost of auto insurance coverage premiums. To help battle this and save drivers money, Louisiana requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. Read on for more on the minimum coverage amounts of car insurance that drivers are required to have in Louisiana.

What Car Insurance Is Required in Louisiana?

If you’re a driver in Louisiana and plan on operating a motor vehicle in the state, you must have a minimum amount of car insurance. This insurance is designed to protect you and the drivers around you in situations where you or another driver is at fault for an accident.
Known as an at-fault state, Louisiana requires drivers to have a certain required amount of liability insurance in the form of Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage. In addition to the required insurance, you can also opt to get MedPay to help cover your medical bills. And you are automatically enrolled in uninsured motorist coverage unless you opt out in writing.
BIL pays for any medical bills and other medical expenses for the other party associated with a car accident that you cause. BIL also pays for lost wages associated with having to miss work to deal with any injuries from a car accident, including physical therapy.
PDL pays for any property damage suffered by another party in an accident that you caused. This includes other vehicles than your own and objects that might have been in the vicinity of, or a part of, the accident, such as a fence, pole, or building.
MedPay, which is similar to the Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage required in other states, helps pay for the medical bills of drivers, including the at-fault driver. Unlike PIP coverage, however, MedPay does not pay for lost wages.
Uninsured motorist coverage is another type of auto insurance offered in Louisiana. Louisiana law requires insurance companies to include the coverage in their insurance policies automatically. The policy holder has to reject the coverage in writing if they do not want it.
While not a necessity, uninsured motorist coverage, and the related underinsured motorist coverage, will pay for your medical expenses and property damage if the at-fault driver is not insured or doesn’t have enough liability insurance to fully cover the damages and injuries suffered.

Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance in Louisiana?

Like almost all states in the U.S., Louisiana requires drivers to have a minimum amount of liability insurance. This is done to help pay for the bodily injuries and property damage suffered in a car accident that is not their fault. Failure to carry the proper amount of auto insurance coverage can result in various penalties and fines.
For the first offense, you have to pay a fine between $500 and $1,000. You will also have your vehicle registration suspended, your license plate removed, and you could have your vehicle impounded. More than likely, the officer will issue you a temporary three-day authorization, which should allow you enough time to get your insurance papers and present them to the Office of Motor Vehicles. Once you present your proof of insurance to the appropriate authorities and pay the $60 in reinstatement fees, you will be allowed to get your vehicle out of impoundment, which you will also have to pay for.
Similar to a first offense, a second offense will result in a fine ranging from $500 to $1,000. The reinstatement fees go up, with you having to pay $160 to get your vehicle back. For third and subsequent offenses, the reinstatement fee increases to $510, with all other fines and penalties remaining the same as for a first or second offense.
In addition to all of this, you will also need to file for an SR-22 certificate with your insurance company. This shows the courts that you have the required minimum amount of car insurance, but it also places you in a higher-risk driver category, which in turn raises your car insurance premiums. You have to keep this SR-22 certificate on file for three years.
In all cases where you are in a collision without having the required minimum insurance, you cannot claim losses, even if you are not at fault. This is Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play Law,” which says you cannot get compensated for a car accident if you do not have insurance for the first $25,000 of property damage and $15,000 of personal injury damage.

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Louisiana?

As you can see, driving without insurance in Louisiana can get expensive, especially if you’re involved in an accident while not having the required amount of coverage. The minimum amount of insurance you need to legally drive in Louisiana includes:
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Louisiana
  • Bodily injury/per person/per accident: $15,000
  • Bodily injury/per accident: $30,000
  • Property damage liability: $25,000

Car Registration Information in Louisiana

Once you have the required minimum amount of liability insurance in Louisiana, you must make sure that your motor vehicle is properly registered in the state. If you currently live in Louisiana, then you have 40 days from the time of purchase to register a vehicle. If you are moving to Louisiana, then you have 30 days after taking up residency in the state to register your vehicle.
Once you register your vehicle in Louisiana, you will receive a license plate to go on the rear of your vehicle. The license plate will have a location in the bottom right for a decal that gives the month and year when you need to renew the vehicle’s registration. You must renew your registration in Louisiana every two years.
The initial registration fee and renewal fee for registering your vehicle in Louisiana is based upon the selling price of the vehicle and is charged at a rate of .1% of the value of the vehicle per year. You can find the fee for registering your vehicle below.
  • $10,000 – 10,499: $20.00
  • $10,500 – 11,499: $22.00
  • $11,500 – 12,499: $24.00
  • $12,500 – 13,499: $26.00
  • $13,500 – 14,499: $28.00
  • $14,500 – 15,499: $30.00
  • $15,500 – 16,499: $32.00
  • $16,500 – 17,499: $34.00
  • $17,500 – 18,499: $36.00
  • $18,500 – 19,499: $38.00
  • $19,500 – 20,499: $40.00
  • $20,500 – 21,499: $42.00
  • $21,500 – 22,499: $44.00
  • $22,500 – 23,499: $46.00
  • $23,500 – 24,499: $48.00
  • $24,500 – 25,499: $50.00
  • $25,500 – 26,499: $52.00
  • $26,500 – 27,499: $54.00
  • $27,500 – 28,499: $56.00
  • $28,500 – 29,499: $58.00
  • $29,500 – 30,499: $60.00
  • $30,500 – 31,499: $62.00
  • $31,500 – 32,499: $64.00
  • $32,500 – 33,499: $66.00
  • $33,500 – 34,499: $68.00
  • $34,500 – 35,499: $70.00
  • $35,500 – 36,499: $72.00
  • $36,500 – 37,499: $74.00
  • $37,500 – 38,499: $76.00
  • $38,500 – 39,499: $78.00
  • $39,500 – 40,499: $80.00
  • $40,500 – 41,499: $82.00
To register your vehicle in Louisiana, you can do so in-person at your local Louisiana Department of Motor Vehicles, online, by mail, or through the LA Wallet app, which you can find on the Google Play store](https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=gov.la.omv.lawallet&hl=en_US) or the Apple App store.
To register your vehicle in Louisiana, you will need the following documentation:
  • Louisiana driver’s license
  • Vehicle registration and title (contains the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)/if moving from out of state)
  • Proof of car insurance
  • Inspection paperwork
  • Proof of sales tax (if moving from out of state)
Compare cheapest car insurance in Louisiana
Compare cheapest car insurance in Louisiana
Find savings (100% Free)

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies