Car Insurance in New Jersey

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in New Jersey.
  • How much does it car insurance cost in New Jersey?
  • How much does it car insurance cost in New Jersey?
  • How much does car insurance cost in your city?
  • How Much is Car Insurance in New Jersey?
  • Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in New Jersey
  • The Cheapest Car Insurance in New Jersey
  • Most Popular Insurance Companies in New Jersey
  • Cost to Insure Different Cars in New Jersey
  • Car Insurance Laws in New Jersey
  • What Car Insurance is Required by Law in New Jersey?
  • Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance in New Jersey?
  • What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in New Jersey?
  • Car Registration Information in New Jersey

Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in New Jersey.

Quote DateMake/modelcityAgeCarrierCoverage Type
Before Jerry
After Jerry
May 11, 2021Ford Focus SELCherry Hill52Plymouth RockBasic$75$48
May 9, 2021Mazda 3 SMorris Plains29ProgressiveBasic$120$63
March 17, 2021Toyota Scion TCWallington22GainscoBasic$218$67
February 14, 2021Honda Accord EXShip Bottom51Bristol WestCurrent$105$67
May 10, 2021Honda Cr-V EXEdison37NationwideCustom$125$88

How much does it car insurance cost in New Jersey?

All Coverage Before Jerry
All Coverage After Jerry
Minimum Coverage Before Jerry
Minimum Coverage After Jerry
Full Coverage Before Jerry
Full Coverage After Jerry
NJ$3,097$1,797$2,570$1,630$2,016$1,464
National Average$2,861$1,409$2,862$1,139$3,799$1,753

How much does it car insurance cost in New Jersey?

Insurance Company
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Nationwide$1,030$480
National General$5,400$1,032
Progressive$3,970$2,604

How much does car insurance cost in your city?

City
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Jersey City$2,976$1,596
Piscataway$2,688$2,052
Elizabeth$4,080$3,180
Paterson$4,308$3,234
Union City$3,780$3,396
East Orange$8,400$6,876

BELOW ARE OLD CONTENT
Looking for car insurance in New Jersey? Here you’ll find all the information you need on driving a car in The Garden State, regardless of what kind of car you own, what your budget is, or what kind of driver you are. Whether you live in Newark or Elizabeth, Jersey City or Edison — you can read on for the cheapest car insurance, the best car insurance, and the laws you need to know for New Jersey car insurance.

How Much is Car Insurance in New Jersey?

Why do car insurance quotes differ by state? First of all, each state has different laws around what kind of coverage you need to legally drive. Insurance companies also look at the number of car accidents and thefts in an area, how much people are generally using their car, and how likely an area is to have a natural disaster, among other factors. But while you can’t always control where you live, you can get cheap car insurance by choosing an insurance policy that has the best rates for your needs. If you live in New Jersey, here’s what you should know about how much you’ll pay for insurance: On average, drivers in New Jersey pay ${averageAnnualPremium} each year for car insurance. This means drivers in New Jersey pay ${averageAnnualDiff} the average for the rest of the country. But however much you pay, you can use our advice on this page to save money.

What’s Your Rate?

But how do you know what policy is right for you in New Jersey? The truth is that insurance companies take many different factors into account when coming up with your quote. They create a profile based not only on where you live in New Jersey, but also on your credit score, marital status, the kind of car you own, and much more.
Not only does your profile change what kind of price you’ll get on car insurance, but it also might change the kind of coverage you want! Not all tiers are the same, and it’s important to know what you’re looking for. You could save money on your monthly or yearly insurance premiums by having a higher deductible. But if you do get into an accident or need to file a claim, that choice will cause you to pay more out of pocket.
The best way to make sure you’re always getting the best coverage for the right price is to let us do all the legwork for you. We can compare quotes from over 40 different insurance companies and find you the best rates in 45 seconds — no matter what kind of coverage you’re looking for.

Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in New Jersey

CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2021-01-08
  • Honda Cr-v Exl
28 year old malePlymouth Rock$197.50$59.50Preferred
2020-12-26
  • Honda Passport Exl
  • Toyota Camry L
28 year old maleTravelers$186.25$101.75Standard
2020-11-30
  • Toyota Corolla L
  • Toyota Camry Se
22 year old malePlymouth Rock$152.67$317.33Basic
2021-02-14
  • Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo
29 year old femalePlymouth Rock$83.33$104.67Preferred
2020-12-20
  • Acura Tl
  • Acura Mdx Technology
  • Honda Accord Lx
20 year old maleNationwide$398.84$10.16Standard

The Cheapest Car Insurance in New Jersey

Which companies offer cheap car insurance in New Jersey? Below, we’ve ranked New Jersey car insurance companies based on which ones have, on average, the cheapest car insurance quotes for basic, standard, and preferred coverage levels for different profiles. These are averages to give you a sense of what drivers in your state are paying. But remember — it’s impossible to know what your quotes will be until you start comparing for yourself. That’s why we’re also showing you some real quotes we were able to find for our members recently. If you shop for insurance wisely, you can get a great deal without sacrificing your own safety and protection.

Cheapest Car Insurance in New Jersey for Basic Coverage

There’s all kinds of auto insurance you can get in New Jersey, depending on what your priorities are. But if your priority is the least expensive premium payments, you’ll want to check out a basic plan. In most states you legally need car insurance to drive. Basic plans ensure that you have the minimum coverage required by New Jersey. These are also plans with liability-only coverage. We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for basic insurance coverage in New Jersey, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Basic Coverage in New Jersey

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Progressive$1,195
2Plymouth Rock$1,197
3Travelers$1,397
4Mercury$1,485
5Nationwide$1,967
6Bristol West$2,311

Real Jerry Quotes for Basic Coverage in New Jersey

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2020-12-08
  • Cadillac Srx
70 year old femaleMercury$129.61$227.39
2021-01-06
  • Mercury Mountaineer
46 year old malePlymouth Rock$55.17$80.83
2020-12-06
  • Honda Accord Sport Special Edition
25 year old malePlymouth Rock$56$64
2020-11-29
  • Kia Sephia Base
25 year old maleProgressive$111.50$28.50
2021-01-13
  • Acura Mdx Technology
61 year old maleProgressive$68.33$134.67

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Plans in New Jersey

Most drivers will want more than the basic minimum coverage that New Jersey requires — but still don’t want to break the bank. Standard plans offer both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance which gives you more protection than a basic plan. These plans generally offer a $1,000 deductible.
Below you’ll find the average price drivers are paying for standard insurance coverage in New Jersey, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner. All of these factors can impact premiums, so be sure to take a look at averages and quotes from drivers similar to you!

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Coverage in New Jersey

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Progressive$1,812
2Travelers$1,981
3Plymouth Rock$2,044
4Nationwide$2,120
5Mercury$2,536

Real Jerry Quotes for Standard Coverage in New Jersey

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2020-11-30
  • Jeep Liberty Renegade
  • Ford F150
25 year old maleTravelers$280.67$289.33
2020-11-26
  • Dodge Caravan Sxt
32 year old femaleTravelers$134.67$105.33
2021-02-07
  • Hyundai Elantra Gl
21 year old femalePlymouth Rock$145.67$99.33
2020-12-22
  • Honda Civic Ex
26 year old malePlymouth Rock$152.83$47.17
2020-12-29
  • Toyota Corolla L
37 year old femalePlymouth Rock$100.17$104.83

Cheapest Car Insurance in New Jersey for Preferred Coverage

Preferred coverage protects New Jersey drivers the most against any accidents or theft. Like basic plans, you’ll have collision insurance and comprehensive insurance. This is higher end full coverage, generally with $500 deductibles. That means you’ll be paying less out of pocket in the event of a claim. The downside? Your premiums are likely to be higher than what drivers with standard plans are paying. But if you comparison shop, you can still find the preferred insurance policy that’s less expensive.
We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for preferred insurance coverage in New Jersey, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your age, your driving record, whether you’re over or under 25 year old, the number of cars your drive, you gender, and if you own a home — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Preferred Coverage in New Jersey

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Progressive$2,038
2Plymouth Rock$2,212
3Travelers$2,250
4Nationwide$2,296
5Mercury$2,822

Real Jerry Quotes for Preferred Coverage in New Jersey

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-02-06
  • Mazda Cx-5 Sport
  • Mazda 3 Sport
37 year old maleProgressive$157.33$242.67
2021-02-21
  • Gmc Acadia Slt-1
42 year old femalePlymouth Rock$125$42
2020-12-21
  • Nissan Sentra S
  • Honda Accord Sport
27 year old maleProgressive$217.50$112.50
2021-02-15
  • Honda Civic Ex
35 year old femaleProgressive$98.17$32.83
2021-01-15
  • Kia Sedona Ex
33 year old malePlymouth Rock$190.50$46.50
Insurance companyAverage annual premium in New Jersey
Plymouth Rock$2,187.48
Progressive$2,491.20
Travelers$3,195.33
Nationwide$2,412.18
Mercury$2,898.49
Bristol West$1,843
CLEARCOVER$714.76

Cost to Insure Different Cars in New Jersey

Auto insurance companies look into several different factors when coming up with their rates. A big one is what state you’re in — which is why it’s so important for New Jersey drivers to compare their rates to people in the same state. The car you drive can be a big factor as well. No matter what town, city, or country you live in, certain cars are just going to cost you more in coverage than others. Check out our chart to find out how much different cars cost to insure in New Jersey. And you can use our table of real quotes from Jerry.ai customers to see what people just like you are paying.
Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2021-01-22
  • Toyota Rav4 Le
44 year old femaleProgressive$53$247Basic
2021-01-28
  • Tesla Model S 70
40 year old malePlymouth Rock$56$127.33Basic
2021-01-13
  • Chrysler Pt Cruiser Touring
27 year old malePlymouth Rock$100.50$149.50Basic
2021-01-27
  • Chevrolet Silverado K1500
22 year old malePlymouth Rock$101.67$316.33Basic
2020-12-12
  • Ford F350
24 year old maleProgressive$145.67$240.33Standard
2020-11-21
  • Mitsubishi Eclipse Gs
32 year old malePlymouth Rock$204.33$277.67Standard
2020-11-23
  • Nissan Sentra Sr Turbo
26 year old femalePlymouth Rock$106.50$157.50Basic

Car Insurance Laws in New Jersey

New Jersey is well known as one of the worst states to commute in. But the Garden State has another unfortunate distinction as well: New Jersey drivers]( https://www.northjersey.com/story/news/2018/01/24/new-jersey-has-worst-drivers-among-worst-roads/1060892001/) are ranked as the worst in the country. With a record like that, it’s no wonder that car accidents are commonplace, and the state sets minimum car insurance requirements so all drivers have some level of protection. Here’s what you should know about the minimum coverage amounts that the state of New Jersey requires.

What Car Insurance is Required by Law in New Jersey?

In addition to registering a car in New Jersey, it’s mandatory to obtain two types of auto insurance coverage: Property Damage Liability (PDL) and Personal Injury Protection (PIP), with uninsured motorist coverage strongly suggested.
Like all no-fault states, the PIP coverage you are required to carry in New Jersey ensures that you can receive medical coverage by your own insurance if you’re injured in a collision, whether or not the accident is your fault. That can include lost wages if you’re unable to work, your ambulance transport to the hospital, or prescriptions. PIP is an important auto insurance coverage as it alleviates time spent in the court system determining who will pay for damages, letting you access compensation quicker. Similarly, PDL coverage helps pay for claims from people whose property has been damaged from an auto accident that is your fault. It’s wide-ranging and can include other cars involved, city or state property, buildings, utility poles, and more.
Being a no-fault state, New Jersey drivers that have been in an accident are required to first use their insurance company to cover motor vehicle damages, medical expenses, and property damage. If that coverage isn’t sufficient, an option is to sue the other driver to recoup losses.
The strongly recommended uninsured motorist coverage takes care of personal losses that can occur if there are gaps that the other party’s insurance doesn’t cover. That might be PIP insurance or PDL coverage amounts that aren’t sufficient for the amount of loss involved.

Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance in New Jersey?

According to New Jersey law, you must have minimum auto insurance coverages to operate a vehicle on the roads in the state. Just having coverage isn’t enough; you must also carry proof of insurance with you when you’re driving. A first-time violation of driving without insurance invokes a fine of $300 to $1,000, community service, DMV fees of $250 per year for three years, and a mandatory one-year license suspension. Court fees are above and beyond.
Subsequent offenses are even more severe, including up to $5,000 in fines, mandatory 14 day stay in jail, 30 days of community service, and a two-year license suspension that the offender must apply to have reinstated afterward.

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in New Jersey?

Recent legislation has reduced the minimum coverage requirements from a standard policy that includes Bodily Injury Liability (BIL), PDL, and PIP coverages. Instead, New Jersey has implemented a law that gives everyone the option to buy a Basic Policy with stripped-down coverages. To legally drive in New Jersey, you must carry these minimum amounts, although more is strongly encouraged.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in New Jersey
  • Property damage liability: $5,000 per accident
  • Personal injury protection: $15,000 per person per accident Collision Insurance and Comprehensive coverage can be purchased as an option, but uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage are not available with the Basic Policy.

Car Registration Information in New Jersey

When you purchase a vehicle in New Jersey, whether privately or from a dealer, or if you have just moved to the state, you must register your vehicle. If you move to New Jersey, you have a 60-day grace period to transfer your vehicle title and registration into the state.
For passenger vehicles, front and rear license plates are issued when you register your vehicle with the DMV and must be affixed to the car at all times. They are assigned to your vehicle by the VIN, or vehicle identification number. The cost of standard license plates is included in your registration fees.
To complete your registration, head to a New Jersey motor vehicle agency if you’ve purchased it from a private individual, an auction, or bought a used car from a dealership. You’ll need to bring your car’s title, your driver’s license, your insurance card, and lien holder information when you go to register your vehicle. If you purchased a new car, the dealership handles the title and registration on your behalf.
You’ll receive a notice for registration renewal three months in advance of the expiry. You can renew online, in person, or by mail.
In New Jersey, the initial registration fee and subsequent annual fees are based on the vehicle’s weight class, model year, and weight.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies