Car Insurance in Connecticut

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in Connecticut.
  • How much does it car insurance cost in Connecticut?
  • How much does it car insurance cost in Connecticut?
  • How much does car insurance cost in your city?
  • How Much is Car Insurance in Connecticut?
  • Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in Connecticut
  • The Cheapest Car Insurance in Connecticut
  • Most Popular Insurance Companies in Connecticut
  • Cost to Insure Different Cars in Connecticut
  • Car Insurance Laws in Connecticut
  • What Car Insurance Is Required in Connecticut?
  • Can You Drive a Car without Insurance in Connecticut?
  • What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Connecticut?
  • Car Registration Information in Connecticut

Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in Connecticut.

Quote DateMake/modelcityAgeCarrierCoverage Type
Before Jerry
After Jerry
May 8, 2021Ford Escape TitaniumStamford33ProgressiveCustom$191$89
April 30, 2021Toyota Sienna LEMeriden43TravelersPreferred$150$99
November 22, 2020Nissan Maxima SHamden39KemperCustom$200$121
May 4, 2021Toyota RAV4 LEWaterbury54NationwideStandard$285$139
April 6, 2021BMW 328 XI SulevFairfield32State AutoStandard$240$145

How much does it car insurance cost in Connecticut?

All Coverage Before Jerry
All Coverage After Jerry
Minimum Coverage Before Jerry
Minimum Coverage After Jerry
Full Coverage Before Jerry
Full Coverage After Jerry
CT$6,457$1,643$2,090$1,410$2,186$1,476
National Average$2,861$1,409$2,862$1,139$3,799$1,753

How much does it car insurance cost in Connecticut?

Insurance Company
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Safeco$2,112$1,080
State Auto$2,623$1,651
Allstate$3,051$1,686
Progressive$3,091$2,069
Nationwide$3,000$2,628

How much does car insurance cost in your city?

City
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Trumbull$1,620$744
Manchester$2,988$768
New Haven$1,860$984
Bristol$2,358$1,356
East Hartford$2,220$1,368
Torrington$2,160$1,584
Hartford$3,300$1,608
Middletown$2,292$1,644
Norwalk$2,160$1,776
Danbury$2,640$1,812

BELOW ARE OLD CONTENT
Looking for car insurance in Connecticut? Here you’ll find all the information you need on driving a car in The Constitution State, regardless of what kind of car you own, what your budget is, or what kind of driver you are. Whether you live in Bridgeport or New Haven, Hartford or Waterbury — you can read on for the cheapest car insurance, the best car insurance, and the laws you need to know for Connecticut car insurance.

How Much is Car Insurance in Connecticut?

Why do car insurance quotes differ by state? First of all, each state has different laws around what kind of coverage you need to legally drive. Insurance companies also look at the number of car accidents and thefts in an area, how much people are generally using their car, and how likely an area is to have a natural disaster, among other factors. But while you can’t always control where you live, you can get cheap car insurance by choosing an insurance policy that has the best rates for your needs. If you live in Connecticut, here’s what you should know about how much you’ll pay for insurance: On average, drivers in Connecticut pay ${averageAnnualPremium} each year for car insurance. This means drivers in Connecticut pay ${averageAnnualDiff} the average for the rest of the country. But however much you pay, you can use our advice on this page to save money.

What’s Your Rate?

But how do you know what policy is right for you in Connecticut? The truth is that insurance companies take many different factors into account when coming up with your quote. They create a profile based not only on where you live in Connecticut, but also on your credit score, marital status, the kind of car you own, and much more.
Not only does your profile change what kind of price you’ll get on car insurance, but it also might change the kind of coverage you want! Not all tiers are the same, and it’s important to know what you’re looking for. You could save money on your monthly or yearly insurance premiums by having a higher deductible. But if you do get into an accident or need to file a claim, that choice will cause you to pay more out of pocket.
The best way to make sure you’re always getting the best coverage for the right price is to let us do all the legwork for you. We can compare quotes from over 40 different insurance companies and find you the best rates in 45 seconds — no matter what kind of coverage you’re looking for.

Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in Connecticut

CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2020-12-13
  • Honda Accord Ex
23 year old maleProgressive$156.67$113.33Preferred
2020-12-17
  • Hyundai Tucson Gls
  • Gmc New Sierra K1500
  • Chevrolet C30
  • Gmc New Sierra K1500
  • Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo
29 year old malePlymouth Rock$164.33$74.67Basic
2020-11-19
  • Audi A7 Prestige
35 year old maleProgressive$74.83$13.17Preferred
2020-12-12
  • Nissan Murano S
27 year old maleProgressive$69.50$30.50Basic
2021-02-07
  • Honda Accord Lx
  • Land Rover Range Rover Hse
37 year old malePlymouth Rock$226$37Preferred

The Cheapest Car Insurance in Connecticut

Which companies offer cheap car insurance in Connecticut? Below, we’ve ranked Connecticut car insurance companies based on which ones have, on average, the cheapest car insurance quotes for basic, standard, and preferred coverage levels for different profiles. These are averages to give you a sense of what drivers in your state are paying. But remember — it’s impossible to know what your quotes will be until you start comparing for yourself. That’s why we’re also showing you some real quotes we were able to find for our members recently. If you shop for insurance wisely, you can get a great deal without sacrificing your own safety and protection.

Cheapest Car Insurance in Connecticut for Basic Coverage

There’s all kinds of auto insurance you can get in Connecticut, depending on what your priorities are. But if your priority is the least expensive premium payments, you’ll want to check out a basic plan. In most states you legally need car insurance to drive. Basic plans ensure that you have the minimum coverage required by Connecticut. These are also plans with liability-only coverage. We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for basic insurance coverage in Connecticut, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Basic Coverage in Connecticut

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Kemper$827
2State Auto$979
3Safeco$1,099
4Plymouth Rock$1,204
5Progressive$1,247
6Nationwide$1,430

Real Jerry Quotes for Basic Coverage in Connecticut

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-02-18
  • Honda Cr-v Lx
  • Toyota Camry Base
54 year old maleProgressive$62$137
2021-02-23
  • Chrysler 300
  • Nissan Rogue S
  • Dodge Caravan Sxt
56 year old maleProgressive$95.83$105.17
2021-02-11
  • Hyundai Veloster Turbo
  • Honda Ridgeline Rtx
  • Honda Civic Si
34 year old femalePlymouth Rock$137.83$147.17
2021-02-20
  • Chevrolet Colorado
29 year old maleProgressive$66.17$79.66
2021-01-04
  • Kia Optima Lx
53 year old femalePlymouth Rock$50.17$62.83

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Plans in Connecticut

Most drivers will want more than the basic minimum coverage that Connecticut requires — but still don’t want to break the bank. Standard plans offer both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance which gives you more protection than a basic plan. These plans generally offer a $1,000 deductible.
Below you’ll find the average price drivers are paying for standard insurance coverage in Connecticut, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner. All of these factors can impact premiums, so be sure to take a look at averages and quotes from drivers similar to you!

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Coverage in Connecticut

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Kemper$1,520
2Plymouth Rock$1,607
3Nationwide$1,660
4State Auto$1,724
5Progressive$1,800
6Travelers$1,856
7Safeco$1,902

Real Jerry Quotes for Standard Coverage in Connecticut

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-02-21
  • Volkswagen Jetta Se
28 year old malePlymouth Rock$92$53
2020-12-22
  • Nissan Altima Sr
35 year old malePlymouth Rock$225.50$154.50
2021-01-15
  • Chevrolet Sonic Premier
29 year old maleProgressive$144.67$79.33
2020-12-08
  • Honda Cr-v Ex
39 year old maleState Auto$87.22$84.78
2021-02-13
  • Honda Accord Ex
22 year old maleTravelers$149.25$250.75

Cheapest Car Insurance in Connecticut for Preferred Coverage

Preferred coverage protects Connecticut drivers the most against any accidents or theft. Like basic plans, you’ll have collision insurance and comprehensive insurance. This is higher end full coverage, generally with $500 deductibles. That means you’ll be paying less out of pocket in the event of a claim. The downside? Your premiums are likely to be higher than what drivers with standard plans are paying. But if you comparison shop, you can still find the preferred insurance policy that’s less expensive.
We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for preferred insurance coverage in Connecticut, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your age, your driving record, whether you’re over or under 25 year old, the number of cars your drive, you gender, and if you own a home — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Preferred Coverage in Connecticut

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Kemper$1,754
2State Auto$1,778
3Plymouth Rock$1,842
4Nationwide$1,926
5Progressive$1,975
6Safeco$2,013
7Travelers$2,067

Real Jerry Quotes for Preferred Coverage in Connecticut

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-01-07
  • Honda Civic Lx
32 year old maleProgressive$120$238
2020-12-27
  • Ford Five Hundred Sel
  • Honda Cr-v Exl
  • Dodge Ram 2500 St
  • Hyundai Santa Fe Sport
  • Hyundai Santa Fe Sport
21 year old maleProgressive$515.67$84.33
2021-02-06
  • Dodge Durango Crew
21 year old maleProgressive$204.83$195.17
2021-02-18
  • Nissan Versa S
39 year old femalePlymouth Rock$151.17$20
2020-11-29
  • Volvo S60 2.5t
27 year old maleProgressive$159$69
Insurance companyAverage annual premium in Connecticut
Progressive$2,488.40
Plymouth Rock$2,153
Safeco$2,382.46
Travelers$2,245.56
Nationwide$2,253.78
Kemper$1,394.15
State Auto$1,666.36
National General$12,128

Cost to Insure Different Cars in Connecticut

Auto insurance companies look into several different factors when coming up with their rates. A big one is what state you’re in — which is why it’s so important for Connecticut drivers to compare their rates to people in the same state. The car you drive can be a big factor as well. No matter what town, city, or country you live in, certain cars are just going to cost you more in coverage than others. Check out our chart to find out how much different cars cost to insure in Connecticut. And you can use our table of real quotes from Jerry.ai customers to see what people just like you are paying.
Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2021-01-08
  • Toyota Prius Plug-in
25 year old femaleProgressive$106.50$57.50Basic
2020-11-27
  • Buick Encore
43 year old femaleProgressive$83.50$54.50Preferred
2020-12-19
  • Acura Tl
22 year old maleProgressive$190.67$43.33Basic
2021-02-03
  • Honda Civic Lx
26 year old femaleProgressive$130.50$69.50Preferred
2021-02-24
  • Chrysler Pt Cruiser Gt
42 year old femaleProgressive$101.50$24.50Basic
2020-12-27
  • Honda Cr-v Lx
22 year old maleSafeco$147.28$61.72Standard
2020-12-11
  • Infiniti G37
27 year old femaleTravelers$120.83$79.17Standard

Car Insurance Laws in Connecticut

Though small in size, the state of Connecticut is known for some prominent traffic bottlenecks. This is especially true around Hartford, Bridgeport, and Stamford. The higher population and greater number of motor vehicles on the roadways in these locations means that there are more car accidents in these cities each year.
In an effort to help control accident costs and make sure the responsible party for a wreck pays for the costs associated with an accident, the state of Connecticut has implemented mandatory insurance amounts that drivers must have in order to drive.
Here’s everything you should know about the minimum insurance amounts you need to drive in Connecticut, as well as the penalties for failing to do so.

What Car Insurance Is Required in Connecticut?

Like many states, Connecticut has some basic prerequisites before they allow you to drive on the road. One of those provisions is that you must carry a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage. This insurance is in the form of Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) and Property Damage Liability (PDL). Drivers must also carry a certain amount of Uninsured Motorist (UIM) coverage to protect themselves from uninsured drivers.
BIL coverage pays for such things as the medical bills for the other party in an accident you cause. In addition to medical expenses, BIL also pays for lost wages for the other party from an accident that you are at-fault for. PDL, on the other hand, pays for the property damage that the other driver suffers, including to their car, as well as to other objects that you hit with your vehicle.
As an at-fault state, Connecticut does not require drivers to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Drivers can elect to carry PIP insurance to help pay for their medical bills if they cause an accident, which would give them some coverage outside of their normal health insurance. Unlike simple liability insurance, PIP coverage only applies to the at-fault driver.
Another type of insurance required by the state of Connecticut is uninsured motorist coverage. Also called Uninsured Motorist/Underinsured Motorist coverage (UIM), this insurance pays out only if the at-fault driver does not have the required minimum coverage amounts or doesn’t have enough to cover all of the medical bills and property damage you suffer in an accident.
If you are the at-fault driver, your Collision Insurance, if you have it, would pay for any damage to your vehicle. Otherwise, you will have to pay for the costs to get your vehicle repaired after an accident yourself.

Can You Drive a Car without Insurance in Connecticut?

Drivers in Connecticut must carry the minimum amount of insurance as required by law. Furthermore, they must always keep proof of this coverage on them when driving and be able to show it to law enforcement if pulled over or when in an accident.
Failure to carry or provide proof of insurance can result in various penalties and fines. The penalties for not having the required minimum coverage amounts or failing to provide proof of insurance include:
  • Failure to show proof of insurance, first offense: $35
  • Failure to show proof of insurance, second and subsequent offense: $50 and court appearance
  • Driving uninsured: $500 for the car owner and from $100 to $1,000 for the driver of the vehicle, up to three months jail time, license suspension (one to six months) and registration suspension, and have to file for an SR-22 certificate.
Even failing to maintain car insurance while you own a licensed vehicle in Connecticut is against the law, and has a $200 fine, suspension of your license, and you face the possibility of having your vehicle’s registration revoked. You will also have to purchase insurance, file for an SR-22 certificate, or give up your license plate for the registered vehicle if you plan on not driving the vehicle going forward.

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Connecticut?

Connecticut requires drivers in the state to carry liability insurance on their registered vehicles to help pay for any medical costs and property damage stemming from an accident that they cause. This coverage also extends to any property that a driver damages with their vehicle, including a fence, pole, or building.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Connecticut
  • Bodily injury/per person/per accident: $25,000
  • Bodily injury/per accident: $50,000
  • Property damage liability: $25,000
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage/per person/per accident: $25,000
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage/per accident: $50,000

Car Registration Information in Connecticut

While you must carry a certain amount of insurance on your vehicle in Connecticut, that is just the first step of the process. You must also make sure to properly register the insured vehicle before you drive it. If you are a new resident in Connecticut or are bringing a car into the state that is registered somewhere else, you have 60 days to register the vehicle.
Before registering, you need to have the vehicle tested for compliance with emission standards, as well as make sure any parking tickets and property taxes are paid. You must also have the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) verified.
In many cases, if you buy a new car from a dealership, the dealership that sold you the car will take care of the registration process for you. Once you register your vehicle, you will receive a license plate for the front and rear of your vehicle. Connecticut license plates do not currently have renewal decals.
Registering your vehicle in Connecticut costs an initial registration fee of $177 plus sales tax. When you renew your registration every two years, the cost for renewal goes down to $100. Fortunately, you have multiple options when it comes to renewing your registration, including in person at a Connecticut DMV location, through the mail, and online.
To register a vehicle in Connecticut, you need the following documentation:
  • Connecticut driver’s license
  • Completed registration application (Form H-13B)
  • Bill of sale (for recently purchased vehicles)
  • Proof of car insurance
  • Current license plate (if replacing it)
  • Certificate of title (if you own the vehicle)

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies