Car Insurance in Missouri

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in Missouri.
  • How much does it car insurance cost in Missouri?
  • How much does it car insurance cost in Missouri?
  • How much does car insurance cost in your city?
  • How Much is Car Insurance in Missouri?
  • Real Quotes for Jerry Customers in Missouri
  • The Cheapest Car Insurance in Missouri
  • Most Popular Insurance Companies in Missouri
  • Cost to Insure Different Cars in Missouri
  • Car Insurance Laws in Missouri
  • What Car Insurance Is Required in Missouri?
  • Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance in Missouri?
  • What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Missouri?
  • Car Registration Information in Missouri
  • What Car Insurance Is Required in Missouri?
  • Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance in Missouri?
  • What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Missouri?

Also can pointing to cheap state when ‘cheap state’ is true

We can have a ‘count’ param to control how many states we want to display.

annually Premium: $1,891.08
annually Premium For FullCoverage: $2,137.34
national Annually Premium For BasicCoverage: $1,691.50
national Annually Premium For FullCoverage: $2,445.89
annually Premium For 18: $2,603
annually Premium For 35: $1,623.60
difference Between 18And35: 60.32%

BELOW ARE OLD CONTENT

Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in Missouri.

Quote DateMake/modelcityAgeCarrierCoverage Type
Before Jerry
After Jerry
June 4, 2021GMC Sierra K1500Jefferson City27
Bristol West
Current$228$61
July 27, 2021Mitsubishi Endeavor SEFestus37ProgressiveCurrent$130$74
July 27, 2021Mitsubishi Endeavor SEFestus37
ClearCover
Current$130$87
October 29, 2020Chevrolet Silverado C1500Bellflower42
National General
Current$130$101
June 18, 2021Kia Sorento LXSaint Louis41AllstateCurrent$255$125

How much does it car insurance cost in Missouri?

All Coverage Before Jerry
All Coverage After Jerry
Minimum Coverage Before Jerry
Minimum Coverage After Jerry
Full Coverage Before Jerry
Full Coverage After Jerry
MO$2,378$1,639$2,071$1,086$2,563$1,690
National Average$2,527$1,697$2,426$1,436$2,845$2,035

How much does it car insurance cost in Missouri?

Insurance Company
Before Jerry
After Jerry
National General
$1,560$1,376
Nationwide$2,615$1,798
State Auto
$2,448$1,840
Allstate$2,885$1,849
Travelers$2,531$1,941
Kemper
$2,687$2,127
Safeco$3,062$2,189

How much does car insurance cost in your city?

City
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Cape Girardeau$1,818$1,327
Florissant$3,849$2,195
Kansas City$3,300$2,221
Saint Louis$3,284$2,191
Springfield$2,398$1,750

BELOW ARE OLD CONTENT
Looking for car insurance in Missouri? Here you’ll find all the information you need on driving a car in The Show-Me State, regardless of what kind of car you own, what your budget is, or what kind of driver you are. Whether you live in Kansas City or Springfield, St. Louis or Columbia — you can read on for the cheapest car insurance, the best car insurance, and the laws you need to know for Missouri car insurance.

How Much is Car Insurance in Missouri?

Why do car insurance quotes differ by state? First of all, each state has different laws around what kind of coverage you need to legally drive. Insurance companies also look at the number of car accidents and thefts in an area, how much people are generally using their car, and how likely an area is to have a natural disaster, among other factors. But while you can’t always control where you live, you can get cheap car insurance by choosing an insurance policy that has the best rates for your needs. If you live in Missouri, here’s what you should know about how much you’ll pay for insurance: On average, drivers in Missouri pay ${averageAnnualPremium} each year for car insurance. This means drivers in Missouri pay ${averageAnnualDiff} the average for the rest of the country. But however much you pay, you can use our advice on this page to save money.
Compare cheapest car insurance in Missouri
Compare cheapest car insurance in Missouri
Find savings (100% Free)

What’s Your Rate?

But how do you know what policy is right for you in Missouri? The truth is that insurance companies take many different factors into account when coming up with your quote. They create a profile based not only on where you live in Missouri, but also on your credit score, marital status, the kind of car you own, and much more.
Not only does your profile change what kind of price you’ll get on car insurance, but it also might change the kind of coverage you want! Not all tiers are the same, and it’s important to know what you’re looking for. You could save money on your monthly or yearly insurance premiums by having a higher deductible. But if you do get into an accident or need to file a claim, that choice will cause you to pay more out of pocket.
The best way to make sure you’re always getting the best coverage for the right price is to let us do all the legwork for you. We can compare quotes from over 40 different insurance companies and find you the best rates in 45 seconds — no matter what kind of coverage you’re looking for.

Real Quotes for Jerry Customers in Missouri

CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
January 1, 2021
  • Ford Expedition El Limited
57 year old femaleProgressive$73$62Preferred
December 31, 2020
  • Toyota Avalon Base
57 year old femaleProgressive$105.50$39.50Preferred
January 26, 2021
  • Dodge Dart Gt
26 year old femaleProgressive$114.33$80.67Standard
December 28, 2020
  • Chevrolet Silverado K1500 Lt
  • Nissan Altima 2.5
  • Ram 1500 Longhorn
  • Nissan Juke S
25 year old maleProgressive$135$465Basic
December 27, 2020
  • Chrysler 200 Limited
20 year old maleProgressive$233$67Preferred

The Cheapest Car Insurance in Missouri

Which companies offer cheap car insurance in Missouri? Below, we’ve ranked Missouri car insurance companies based on which ones have, on average, the cheapest car insurance quotes for basic, standard, and preferred coverage levels for different profiles. These are averages to give you a sense of what drivers in your state are paying. But remember — it’s impossible to know what your quotes will be until you start comparing for yourself. That’s why we’re also showing you some real quotes we were able to find for our members recently. If you shop for insurance wisely, you can get a great deal without sacrificing your own safety and protection.
Compare cheapest car insurance in Missouri
Compare cheapest car insurance in Missouri
Find savings (100% Free)

Cheapest Car Insurance in Missouri for Basic Coverage

There’s all kinds of auto insurance you can get in Missouri, depending on what your priorities are. But if your priority is the least expensive premium payments, you’ll want to check out a basic plan. In most states you legally need car insurance to drive. Basic plans ensure that you have the minimum coverage required by Missouri. These are also plans with liability-only coverage. We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for basic insurance coverage in Missouri, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Basic Coverage in Missouri

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1CLEARCOVER$924
2Progressive$985
3Bristol West$1,070
4Nationwide$1,084
Find Cheap Car Insurance in Other States

Not in Missouri?

Real Jerry Quotes for Basic Coverage in Missouri

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
February 1, 2021
  • Honda Accord Sport
21 year old maleProgressive$58.17$116.83
January 6, 2021
  • Ford Mustang Gt
  • Kia Forte Fe
32 year old maleProgressive$51.33$108.67
February 20, 2021
  • Nissan Rogue S
  • Nissan Frontier S
  • Honda Accord Exl
  • Honda Odyssey Exl
19 year old maleProgressive$230.50$174.65
January 12, 2021
  • Volkswagen Passat S
40 year old femaleProgressive$50$128
January 4, 2021
  • Chevrolet Malibu Ltz
35 year old femaleBristol West$69.17$119.83

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Plans in Missouri

Most drivers will want more than the basic minimum coverage that Missouri requires — but still don’t want to break the bank. Standard plans offer both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance which gives you more protection than a basic plan. These plans generally offer a $1,000 deductible.
Below you’ll find the average price drivers are paying for standard insurance coverage in Missouri, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner. All of these factors can impact premiums, so be sure to take a look at averages and quotes from drivers similar to you!

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Coverage in Missouri

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1CLEARCOVER$1,156
2Progressive$1,494
3Kemper$1,570
4Travelers$1,686
5Safeco$1,739
6Nationwide$1,750
7State Auto$1,869

Real Jerry Quotes for Standard Coverage in Missouri

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
December 10, 2020
  • Nissan Murano Sl
37 year old femaleProgressive$80.33$61.67
December 15, 2020
  • Mazda 3 Touring
31 year old maleNationwide$112.78$76.35
December 18, 2020
  • Hyundai Sonata Sport
31 year old maleTravelers$150$90
January 11, 2021
  • Jeep Patriot Sport
23 year old maleSafeco$160.01$109.99
February 17, 2021
  • Chevrolet Gmt-400 C1500
  • Acura Tl
42 year old maleProgressive$52.50$12.33

Cheapest Car Insurance in Missouri for Preferred Coverage

Preferred coverage protects Missouri drivers the most against any accidents or theft. Like basic plans, you’ll have collision insurance and comprehensive insurance. This is higher end full coverage, generally with $500 deductibles. That means you’ll be paying less out of pocket in the event of a claim. The downside? Your premiums are likely to be higher than what drivers with standard plans are paying. But if you comparison shop, you can still find the preferred insurance policy that’s less expensive.
We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for preferred insurance coverage in Missouri, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your age, your driving record, whether you’re over or under 25 year old, the number of cars your drive, you gender, and if you own a home — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Preferred Coverage in Missouri

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1CLEARCOVER$1,218
2Progressive$1,711
3Kemper$1,717
4Nationwide$1,802
5Travelers$1,849
6Safeco$2,056
7State Auto$2,217

Real Jerry Quotes for Preferred Coverage in Missouri

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
November 21, 2020
  • Chevrolet Camaro Ss
41 year old maleCLEARCOVER$51.50$198.50
January 5, 2021
  • Buick Verano Convenience
22 year old femaleNationwide$113.60$26.40
November 22, 2020
  • Dodge Avenger Sxt
40 year old femaleTravelers$103.50$16.50
November 26, 2020
  • Toyota Camry Ce
24 year old femaleTravelers$84.67$13.33
December 29, 2020
  • Jeep Cherokee Sport
  • Honda Element Ex
  • Gmc Acadia Slt-2
20 year old femaleProgressive$317.67$82.33
Insurance companyAverage annual premium in Missouri
Progressive$1,411.81
ClearCover$1,321.65
Allstate$1,483.49
Bristol West$1,658.46
Travelers$1,906.71
Safeco$1,360.87
Kemper$1,844
Nationwide$3,079.04
State Auto$1,631.18

Cost to Insure Different Cars in Missouri

Auto insurance companies look into several different factors when coming up with their rates. A big one is what state you’re in — which is why it’s so important for Missouri drivers to compare their rates to people in the same state. The car you drive can be a big factor as well. No matter what town, city, or country you live in, certain cars are just going to cost you more in coverage than others. Check out our chart to find out how much different cars cost to insure in Missouri. And you can use our table of real quotes from Jerry customers to see what people just like you are paying.
Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
January 4, 2021
  • Mercedes-benz E 350
34 year old maleTravelers$114.25$80.31Preferred
December 15, 2020
  • Chevrolet Camaro 2ss
20 year old maleProgressive$84.33$135.67Basic
January 25, 2021
  • Nissan Maxima 3.5s
25 year old femaleProgressive$62$373Basic
December 23, 2020
  • Dodge Avenger Sxt
20 year old maleProgressive$75.67$89.33Basic
January 2, 2021
  • Dodge Avenger Se
20 year old femaleTravelers$272.33$122.83Preferred
February 18, 2021
  • Chevrolet Cruze Premier
22 year old maleProgressive$105$309.45Basic
January 15, 2021
  • Gmc Terrain Sle
28 year old maleCLEARCOVER$55.67$44.33Standard

Car Insurance Laws in Missouri

Ranking as the third-most dangerous state for deadly car wrecks, it makes sense that Missouri requires a minimum amount of liability insurance for drivers. These minimum coverage amounts were put into place to protect drivers and to keep insurance costs down. If you live and drive in Missouri, here’s what

What Car Insurance Is Required in Missouri?

Before driving in Missouri, you need to have certain minimum amounts of liability insurance on your motor vehicle. This auto insurance coverage is in the form of Bodily Injury Liability (BIL), Property Damage Liability (PDL), and uninsured motorist coverage.
BIL coverage pays for the medical bills and qualifying medical expenses of the other party in an accident that you’re at fault for. BIL also pays lost wages and will cover funeral expenses if someone dies in the accident. And, it will pay your court costs if you’re sued for damages, as well as any pain and suffering compensation awarded by the court to the other party.
PDL coverage is designed to pay for property damage to a vehicle, an object, or a building that you hit. In addition, your PDL should cover a family member who has an accident after you give them permission to drive your vehicle, as well as covering you if you have an accident while driving a rental car.
Uninsured motorist coverage only pertains to bodily injury and does not apply to property damage. For that you’ll have to get separate coverage, though it is not required. Uninsured motorist coverage will pay your medical bills if the at-fault driver does not have the required insurance.
Another type of insurance, which is recommended but not required, is MedPay. Unlike a no-fault state, which uses Personal Injury Protection (PIP) to pay for the medical bills of the at-fault driver, Missouri, as an at-fault state, uses MedPay instead. MedPay does not cover lost wages. But, like PIP coverage, MedPay does pay for qualifying medical expenses.

Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance in Missouri?

If you want to register and drive a car in Missouri, you will need to buy the minimum amount of car insurance. Driving without insurance in Missouri will result in fines and penalties. You must also show proof of insurance if you are pulled over by law enforcement or are in an accident.
The first time you’re caught driving without insurance, your driver’s license, registration, and license plate will be suspended until you can show that you have the minimum required amount. You will also have to pay a $20 reinstatement fee and have four points added to your driving record.
A second offense will result in a fine not exceeding $500. You will also have your license, registration, and license plate suspended for 90 days. In addition, you will have to pay a $200 reinstatement fee, have four more points added to your driving record, and potentially have to spend up to 15 days in jail.
A third and subsequent offenses will result in another $500 fine, as well as a suspension lasting one year. The reinstatement fee goes up to $400, another four points will be added to your driving record, and you could spend up to 15 days in jail.
In addition to the above fines and penalties, you will have to file for an SR-22 certificate if your driver’s license has been suspended due to having an accident while driving without insurance. You have to keep the SR-22 certificate on file for two to three years, depending on the violation.

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Missouri?

Driving in Missouri requires a certain minimum amount of car insurance. This is to help pay for the costs of an accident by placing the burden for paying for bodily injury and property damage claims on the at-fault driver.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Missouri
  • Bodily injury/per person/per accident: $25,000
  • Bodily injury/per accident: $50,000
  • Property damage liability: $10,000
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage/per person/per accident: $25,000
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage/per accident: $50,000

Car Registration Information in Missouri

Ranking as the third-most dangerous state for deadly car wrecks, it makes sense that Missouri requires a minimum amount of liability insurance for drivers. These minimum coverage amounts were put into place to protect drivers and to keep insurance costs down. If you live and drive in Missouri, here’s what

What Car Insurance Is Required in Missouri?

Before driving in Missouri, you need to have certain minimum amounts of liability insurance on your motor vehicle. This auto insurance coverage is in the form of Bodily Injury Liability (BIL), Property Damage Liability (PDL), and uninsured motorist coverage.
BIL coverage pays for the medical bills and qualifying medical expenses of the other party in an accident that you’re at fault for. BIL also pays lost wages and will cover funeral expenses if someone dies in the accident. And, it will pay your court costs if you’re sued for damages, as well as any pain and suffering compensation awarded by the court to the other party.
PDL coverage is designed to pay for property damage to a vehicle, an object, or a building that you hit. In addition, your PDL should cover a family member who has an accident after you give them permission to drive your vehicle, as well as covering you if you have an accident while driving a rental car.
Uninsured motorist coverage only pertains to bodily injury and does not apply to property damage. For that you’ll have to get separate coverage, though it is not required. Uninsured motorist coverage will pay your medical bills if the at-fault driver does not have the required insurance.
Another type of insurance, which is recommended but not required, is MedPay. Unlike a no-fault state, which uses Personal Injury Protection (PIP) to pay for the medical bills of the at-fault driver, Missouri, as an at-fault state, uses MedPay instead. MedPay does not cover lost wages. But, like PIP coverage, MedPay does pay for qualifying medical expenses.

Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance in Missouri?

If you want to register and drive a car in Missouri, you will need to buy the minimum amount of car insurance. Driving without insurance in Missouri will result in fines and penalties. You must also show proof of insurance if you are pulled over by law enforcement or are in an accident.
The first time you’re caught driving without insurance, your driver’s license, registration, and license plate will be suspended until you can show that you have the minimum required amount. You will also have to pay a $20 reinstatement fee and have four points added to your driving record.
A second offense will result in a fine not exceeding $500. You will also have your license, registration, and license plate suspended for 90 days. In addition, you will have to pay a $200 reinstatement fee, have four more points added to your driving record, and potentially have to spend up to 15 days in jail.
A third and subsequent offenses will result in another $500 fine, as well as a suspension lasting one year. The reinstatement fee goes up to $400, another four points will be added to your driving record, and you could spend up to 15 days in jail.
In addition to the above fines and penalties, you will have to file for an SR-22 certificate if your driver’s license has been suspended due to having an accident while driving without insurance. You have to keep the SR-22 certificate on file for two to three years, depending on the violation.

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Missouri?

Driving in Missouri requires a certain minimum amount of car insurance. This is to help pay for the costs of an accident by placing the burden for paying for bodily injury and property damage claims on the at-fault driver.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Missouri
  • Bodily injury/per person/per accident: $25,000
  • Bodily injury/per accident: $50,000
  • Property damage liability: $10,000
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage/per person/per accident: $25,000
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage/per accident: $50,000
Compare cheapest car insurance in Missouri
Compare cheapest car insurance in Missouri
Find savings (100% Free)

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies