Car Insurance in Arkansas

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in Arkansas.
  • How much does it car insurance cost in Arkansas?
  • How much does it car insurance cost in Arkansas?
  • How much does car insurance cost in your city?
  • How Much is Car Insurance in Arkansas?
  • Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in Arkansas
  • The Cheapest Car Insurance in Arkansas
  • Most Popular Insurance Companies in Arkansas
  • Cost to Insure Different Cars in Arkansas
  • Car Insurance Laws in Arkansas
  • What Car Insurance Is Required in Arkansas?
  • Can You Drive a Car without Insurance in Arkansas?
  • What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Arkansas?
  • Car Registration Information in Arkansas

Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in Arkansas.

Quote DateMake/modelcityAgeCarrierCoverage Type
Before Jerry
After Jerry
May 11, 2021Honda Cr-ZJonesboro46ProgressiveCustom$82$38
February 26, 2021Chevrolet Malibu LSMorrilton66State AutoCustom$119$39
April 30, 2021Dodge Avenger SEJonesboro26GainscoBasic$300$90
October 14, 2020Toyota RAV4 LEWard28TravelersCurrent$168$105
May 8, 2021GMC Yukon XL K1500Malvern47DairylandCustom$174$114

How much does it car insurance cost in Arkansas?

All Coverage Before Jerry
All Coverage After Jerry
Minimum Coverage Before Jerry
Minimum Coverage After Jerry
Full Coverage Before Jerry
Full Coverage After Jerry
AR$2,204$1,165$1,580$1,288--
National Average$2,861$1,409$2,862$1,139$3,799$1,753

How much does it car insurance cost in Arkansas?

Insurance Company
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Allstate$1,440$1,080
Progressive$2,112$1,294

How much does car insurance cost in your city?

City
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Fort Smith$972$786
Jonesboro$3,280$1,232
Little Rock$1,884$1,302
Benton$2,400$1,500
Fayetteville$2,040$1,524
Pine Bluff$3,432$3,372

BELOW ARE OLD CONTENT
Looking for car insurance in Arkansas? Here you’ll find all the information you need on driving a car in The Natural State, regardless of what kind of car you own, what your budget is, or what kind of driver you are. Whether you live in Little Rock or Fort Smith, Springdale or Jonesboro — you can read on for the cheapest car insurance, the best car insurance, and the laws you need to know for Arkansas car insurance.

How Much is Car Insurance in Arkansas?

Why do car insurance quotes differ by state? First of all, each state has different laws around what kind of coverage you need to legally drive. Insurance companies also look at the number of car accidents and thefts in an area, how much people are generally using their car, and how likely an area is to have a natural disaster, among other factors. But while you can’t always control where you live, you can get cheap car insurance by choosing an insurance policy that has the best rates for your needs. If you live in Arkansas, here’s what you should know about how much you’ll pay for insurance: On average, drivers in Arkansas pay ${averageAnnualPremium} each year for car insurance. This means drivers in Arkansas pay ${averageAnnualDiff} the average for the rest of the country. But however much you pay, you can use our advice on this page to save money.

What’s Your Rate?

But how do you know what policy is right for you in Arkansas? The truth is that insurance companies take many different factors into account when coming up with your quote. They create a profile based not only on where you live in Arkansas, but also on your credit score, marital status, the kind of car you own, and much more.
Not only does your profile change what kind of price you’ll get on car insurance, but it also might change the kind of coverage you want! Not all tiers are the same, and it’s important to know what you’re looking for. You could save money on your monthly or yearly insurance premiums by having a higher deductible. But if you do get into an accident or need to file a claim, that choice will cause you to pay more out of pocket.
The best way to make sure you’re always getting the best coverage for the right price is to let us do all the legwork for you. We can compare quotes from over 40 different insurance companies and find you the best rates in 45 seconds — no matter what kind of coverage you’re looking for.

Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in Arkansas

CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2021-02-20
  • Honda Accord Lx
25 year old maleProgressive$116$16Preferred
2021-02-10
  • Nissan Altima Sv
  • Ford Focus Se
  • Pontiac Grand Prix Gt
21 year old maleProgressive$98.83$101.17Basic
2020-12-13
  • Gmc Terrain Slt
36 year old femaleState Auto$139.33$174.68Preferred
2021-02-08
  • Kia Sorento Lx
26 year old femaleProgressive$95.67$83.33Standard
2021-02-09
  • Dodge Ram 1500 St
  • Gmc New Sierra K3500
64 year old maleProgressive$94.83$29.17Standard

The Cheapest Car Insurance in Arkansas

Which companies offer cheap car insurance in Arkansas? Below, we’ve ranked Arkansas car insurance companies based on which ones have, on average, the cheapest car insurance quotes for basic, standard, and preferred coverage levels for different profiles. These are averages to give you a sense of what drivers in your state are paying. But remember — it’s impossible to know what your quotes will be until you start comparing for yourself. That’s why we’re also showing you some real quotes we were able to find for our members recently. If you shop for insurance wisely, you can get a great deal without sacrificing your own safety and protection.

Cheapest Car Insurance in Arkansas for Basic Coverage

There’s all kinds of auto insurance you can get in Arkansas, depending on what your priorities are. But if your priority is the least expensive premium payments, you’ll want to check out a basic plan. In most states you legally need car insurance to drive. Basic plans ensure that you have the minimum coverage required by Arkansas. These are also plans with liability-only coverage. We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for basic insurance coverage in Arkansas, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Basic Coverage in Arkansas

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Nationwide$909
2Progressive$959

Real Jerry Quotes for Basic Coverage in Arkansas

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2020-12-10
  • Gmc Sierra K1500 Sle
28 year old maleProgressive$69.67$136.33
2021-01-18
  • Chevrolet Malibu Lt
28 year old femaleProgressive$97.50$402.50
2021-02-03
  • Chevrolet Camaro Ls
23 year old maleProgressive$81.17$212.83
2020-12-29
  • Chevrolet Trailblazer Ls
  • Chevrolet Tahoe C1500
20 year old maleProgressive$76.67$120.33
2020-12-13
  • Toyota Camry Le
  • Nissan Altima S
23 year old maleNationwide$78.35$391.65

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Plans in Arkansas

Most drivers will want more than the basic minimum coverage that Arkansas requires — but still don’t want to break the bank. Standard plans offer both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance which gives you more protection than a basic plan. These plans generally offer a $1,000 deductible.
Below you’ll find the average price drivers are paying for standard insurance coverage in Arkansas, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner. All of these factors can impact premiums, so be sure to take a look at averages and quotes from drivers similar to you!

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Coverage in Arkansas

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Kemper$921
2Progressive$1,453
3Nationwide$1,517
4State Auto$1,835
5Travelers$1,873
6Safeco$1,907

Real Jerry Quotes for Standard Coverage in Arkansas

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-01-04
  • Ford F150 Supercrew
27 year old maleNationwide$93.16$106.84
2020-11-29
  • Buick Park Avenue
76 year old maleState Auto$78.47$28.53
2020-12-24
  • Hyundai Elantra Gls
24 year old femaleProgressive$82.83$148.17
2021-01-26
  • Gmc Sierra C1500 Sle
61 year old maleKemper$67.83$38.17
2021-02-23
  • Dodge Dart Sxt
  • Hyundai Elantra Gls
  • Nissan Altima 2.5
22 year old femaleState Auto$258.85$297.15

Cheapest Car Insurance in Arkansas for Preferred Coverage

Preferred coverage protects Arkansas drivers the most against any accidents or theft. Like basic plans, you’ll have collision insurance and comprehensive insurance. This is higher end full coverage, generally with $500 deductibles. That means you’ll be paying less out of pocket in the event of a claim. The downside? Your premiums are likely to be higher than what drivers with standard plans are paying. But if you comparison shop, you can still find the preferred insurance policy that’s less expensive.
We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for preferred insurance coverage in Arkansas, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your age, your driving record, whether you’re over or under 25 year old, the number of cars your drive, you gender, and if you own a home — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Preferred Coverage in Arkansas

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Kemper$1,159
2Progressive$1,653
3Nationwide$1,740
4Safeco$1,887
5Travelers$2,013
6State Auto$2,066

Real Jerry Quotes for Preferred Coverage in Arkansas

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2020-12-13
  • Dodge Caravan C/v
  • Honda Odyssey Lx
  • Chevrolet P30
33 year old maleTravelers$212.42$22.58
2021-01-07
  • Ford Edge Se
37 year old femaleProgressive$70.17$23.02
2021-01-04
  • Nissan Versa Sv
63 year old femaleNationwide$149.25$106.76
2021-02-06
  • Chevrolet Malibu Ls
  • Ford F150 Supercrew
60 year old maleState Auto$124.37$43.63
2020-11-18
  • Dodge Ram 1500 St
42 year old maleProgressive$68.83$169.17
Insurance companyAverage annual premium in Arkansas
Progressive$1,470.06
Nationwide$912.13
Travelers$2,534
State Auto$680.13

Cost to Insure Different Cars in Arkansas

Auto insurance companies look into several different factors when coming up with their rates. A big one is what state you’re in — which is why it’s so important for Arkansas drivers to compare their rates to people in the same state. The car you drive can be a big factor as well. No matter what town, city, or country you live in, certain cars are just going to cost you more in coverage than others. Check out our chart to find out how much different cars cost to insure in Arkansas. And you can use our table of real quotes from Jerry.ai customers to see what people just like you are paying.
Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2021-01-07
  • Ford Edge Se
37 year old femaleProgressive$70.17$23.02Preferred
2020-12-12
  • Dodge Challenger Sxt
30 year old maleNationwide$158$342Preferred
2021-01-26
  • Dodge Charger Se
28 year old maleProgressive$147.50$132.50Standard
2020-12-09
  • Jeep Cherokee Limited
24 year old femaleTravelers$131.17$24.83Preferred
2021-01-05
  • Nissan Murano Sl
35 year old maleProgressive$69.83$50.17Preferred
2021-01-18
  • Bmw 328 Xi Sulev
34 year old maleTravelers$159.75$26.25Standard
2021-01-13
  • Hyundai Tucson Limited
29 year old femaleProgressive$86.17$102.83Standard

Car Insurance Laws in Arkansas

Like many states, your driving experience in Arkansas depends mainly on where you live and work. Living near or working in population centers, such as Little Rock, Fort Smith, and Fayetteville, means you risk being involved in one of the more than 60,000 car accidents that occur in Arkansas each year. This is due in part to the increased amount of traffic in those areas.
Because of this possibility, Arkansas requires its residents to carry a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage. Read on to learn more about how much insurance is required in the state of Arkansas.

What Car Insurance Is Required in Arkansas?

By law, motor vehicle drivers in Arkansas are required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. This liability insurance includes Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage. In addition, drivers in Arkansas can purchase Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage as an add-on to their normal required insurance amounts.
While Arkansas is an at-fault state, and this type of PIP insurance is more common in no-fault states, it gives drivers and their families additional coverage when it comes to paying for any medical bills arising from an accident. In addition to helping pay for medical expenses, PIP coverage also pays for such things as lost wages and essential services related to the accident.
BIL is one of the main required auto insurance coverages, and it pays for the other party’s medical expenses if you are at fault in a car accident. BIL can also pay for any emergency room fees, physical therapy, and other medically related expenses, as well as helping to pay for lost wages for the driver you hit.
PDL, on the other hand, pays for any property damage caused by the at-fault driver in a car accident. PDL also pays for any damage to property, such as a fence or building hit by their vehicle. In addition, PDL covers anyone else driving your car with your permission and can even extend to you if you’re driving someone else’s car when you cause an accident.
As an at-fault state, Arkansas requires insurance companies to offer uninsured motorist coverage to drivers operating motor vehicles registered in the state. Uninsured motorist coverage protects drivers if they’re hit by a driver who is not insured. You can also opt out of buying uninsured motorist coverage at the time you get insurance, though you must actively decline the coverage.

Can You Drive a Car without Insurance in Arkansas?

To own and operate a motor vehicle in Arkansas, you must have a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage. You must also be able to show proof of this insurance if you’re in an accident or pulled over by law enforcement. Failure to do so can result in certain penalties. For the first offense, you could be fined from $50 to $250, unless you show proof of insurance within 10 days of being cited. You also face having your license plate removed, your vehicle registration suspended, and your vehicle impounded (if you’re involved in an accident without car insurance).
Offending drivers will also have to get an SR-22 certificate to show proof of insurance to the courts. An SR-22 certificate means you will have to pay more for insurance, as it places you in a high-risk category of driver.
As a second-time violator, you face a mandatory fine of $250 to $500, in addition to the license plate removal, registration suspension, and vehicle impoundment. For a third and further offenses, you will have to pay a mandatory fine of $500 to $1,000 and have your license plate removed, registration suspended, and vehicle impounded. You could also face up to one year in jail for a third offense.

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Arkansas?

To protect drivers in an accident, Arkansas requires a minimum amount of insurance. This is to help pay for any medical bills and property damage suffered by the other party involved in an auto accident. The at-fault driver will have to rely on any collision coverage they have to pay for property damage, as well as separately purchased health and PIP insurance to pay for any medical bills.
To protect other motorists, drivers have to carry the minimum coverage amounts listed below.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Arkansas
  • Bodily injury/per person/per accident: $25,000
  • Bodily injury/per accident: $50,000
  • Property damage liability: $25,000
  • Personal injury protection: Varies (optional)

Car Registration Information in Arkansas

While you must carry the required minimum amount of insurance on your car in Arkansas, you must also make sure that your vehicle is properly registered in the state before driving. You have 30 days from the date of purchase to register a vehicle. In addition, you have 30 days to register your vehicle in Arkansas upon moving to the state.
After registering your vehicle in Arkansas, you will receive a license plate and one decal that goes on the upper right of the plate. The decal has the month and year that the registration must be renewed. Vehicles in Arkansas only have one license plate, which goes on the rear of the vehicle.
The initial registration fee to register a vehicle in Arkansas includes the following:
  • 3,000 pounds and under: $17
  • 3,001 to 4,500 pounds: $25
  • 4.501 pounds and over: $30
  • Vans and Trucks: $21
Registering your vehicle in Arkansas is pretty straight forward. In Arkansas you can register your vehicle in one of three ways: in person, online, or through the mail. In addition, you will need to renew your vehicle registration in Arkansas every year, which carries the same fees as above.
To register your vehicle in Arkansas, you will need the following documents and information:
  • Arkansas driver’s license
  • Signed copy of lien agreement
  • State of Arkansas Vehicle Bill of Sale Odometer Disclosure Statement Form
  • Proof of Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) verification
  • Proof of payment of property taxes
  • Proof of car insurance
  • Vehicle registration (if registered previously)
  • Current license plate (if replacing it)
  • Certificate of title (if you own the vehicle)

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies