Car Insurance in Utah

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in Utah.
  • How much does it car insurance cost in Utah?
  • How much does it car insurance cost in Utah?
  • How much does car insurance cost in your city?
  • How Much is Car Insurance in Utah?
  • Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in Utah
  • The Cheapest Car Insurance in Utah
  • Most Popular Insurance Companies in Utah
  • Cost to Insure Different Cars in Utah
  • Car Insurance Laws in Utah
  • What Car Insurance Is Required by Law in Utah?
  • Can You Drive a Car without Insurance in Utah?
  • What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Utah?
  • Car Registration Information in Utah

Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in Utah.

Quote DateMake/modelcityAgeCarrierCoverage Type
Before Jerry
After Jerry
May 10, 2021Chevrolet Cobalt LTSalt Lake City26ProgressiveCustom$77$41
April 2, 2021Pontiac Grand Am Se1Ogden42GainscoBasic$97$71
April 26, 2021Ford Fusion SELindon21AllstateCurrent$189$78
April 30, 2021Jeep Grand Cherokee LaredoOrem36Bristol WestCustom$148$78
November 27, 2020Honda Accord LXSalt Lake City26KemperBasic$200$93

How much does it car insurance cost in Utah?

All Coverage Before Jerry
All Coverage After Jerry
Minimum Coverage Before Jerry
Minimum Coverage After Jerry
Full Coverage Before Jerry
Full Coverage After Jerry
UT$1,836$1,114$1,490$944$1,768$1,296
National Average$2,861$1,409$2,862$1,139$3,799$1,753

How much does it car insurance cost in Utah?

Insurance Company
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Nationwide$946$582
Allstate$2,170$872
Progressive$1,801$1,021
Kemper$2,400$1,116

How much does car insurance cost in your city?

City
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Logan$732$456
Pleasant Grove$1,374$672
Saint George$1,380$852
Provo$1,707$861
West Jordan$1,792$980
Layton$2,160$1,008
Taylorsville$1,812$1,008
Sandy$2,156$1,140
Midvale$1,818$1,164
Ogden$1,641$1,182

BELOW ARE OLD CONTENT
Looking for car insurance in Utah? Here you’ll find all the information you need on driving a car in The Beehive State, regardless of what kind of car you own, what your budget is, or what kind of driver you are. Whether you live in Salt Lake City or Provo, West Valley City or Orem — you can read on for the cheapest car insurance, the best car insurance, and the laws you need to know for Utah car insurance.

How Much is Car Insurance in Utah?

Why do car insurance quotes differ by state? First of all, each state has different laws around what kind of coverage you need to legally drive. Insurance companies also look at the number of car accidents and thefts in an area, how much people are generally using their car, and how likely an area is to have a natural disaster, among other factors. But while you can’t always control where you live, you can get cheap car insurance by choosing an insurance policy that has the best rates for your needs. If you live in Utah, here’s what you should know about how much you’ll pay for insurance: On average, drivers in Utah pay ${averageAnnualPremium} each year for car insurance. This means drivers in Utah pay ${averageAnnualDiff} the average for the rest of the country. But however much you pay, you can use our advice on this page to save money.

What’s Your Rate?

But how do you know what policy is right for you in Utah? The truth is that insurance companies take many different factors into account when coming up with your quote. They create a profile based not only on where you live in Utah, but also on your credit score, marital status, the kind of car you own, and much more.
Not only does your profile change what kind of price you’ll get on car insurance, but it also might change the kind of coverage you want! Not all tiers are the same, and it’s important to know what you’re looking for. You could save money on your monthly or yearly insurance premiums by having a higher deductible. But if you do get into an accident or need to file a claim, that choice will cause you to pay more out of pocket.
The best way to make sure you’re always getting the best coverage for the right price is to let us do all the legwork for you. We can compare quotes from over 40 different insurance companies and find you the best rates in 45 seconds — no matter what kind of coverage you’re looking for.

Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in Utah

CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2021-01-15
  • Chrysler Pt Cruiser
  • Nissan Altima Base
25 year old femaleCLEARCOVER$63.17$136.83Standard
2020-11-19
  • Hyundai Sonata Se
29 year old maleCLEARCOVER$66.50$76.50Standard
2020-12-30
  • Toyota 4runner Sr5
31 year old maleBristol West$70.83$22.03Basic
2021-01-29
  • Chevrolet Malibu Ls
  • Ford Taurus Lx
49 year old femaleProgressive$150.33$87.67Preferred
2021-02-20
  • Mini Cooper
30 year old femaleCLEARCOVER$53.33$74.67Standard

The Cheapest Car Insurance in Utah

Which companies offer cheap car insurance in Utah? Below, we’ve ranked Utah car insurance companies based on which ones have, on average, the cheapest car insurance quotes for basic, standard, and preferred coverage levels for different profiles. These are averages to give you a sense of what drivers in your state are paying. But remember — it’s impossible to know what your quotes will be until you start comparing for yourself. That’s why we’re also showing you some real quotes we were able to find for our members recently. If you shop for insurance wisely, you can get a great deal without sacrificing your own safety and protection.

Cheapest Car Insurance in Utah for Basic Coverage

There’s all kinds of auto insurance you can get in Utah, depending on what your priorities are. But if your priority is the least expensive premium payments, you’ll want to check out a basic plan. In most states you legally need car insurance to drive. Basic plans ensure that you have the minimum coverage required by Utah. These are also plans with liability-only coverage. We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for basic insurance coverage in Utah, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Basic Coverage in Utah

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Nationwide$887
2CLEARCOVER$927
3Sun Coast General Insurance$935
4Travelers$1,038
5Bristol West$1,076
6Progressive$1,103
7Gainsco$1,446

Real Jerry Quotes for Basic Coverage in Utah

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2020-11-30
  • Ford Gt
  • Ford F150 Raptor
24 year old maleCLEARCOVER$55$214
2020-12-20
  • Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo
  • Volkswagen Jetta S
36 year old maleProgressive$55.17$204.83
2021-01-20
  • Bmw 328 Xi Sulev
20 year old maleProgressive$197.50$62.50
2020-12-17
  • Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
  • Ram 3500 Laramie
36 year old maleSun Coast General Insurance$51.50$81.83
2021-01-06
  • Dodge Grand Caravan Sxt
33 year old femaleCLEARCOVER$57.17$23.83

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Plans in Utah

Most drivers will want more than the basic minimum coverage that Utah requires — but still don’t want to break the bank. Standard plans offer both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance which gives you more protection than a basic plan. These plans generally offer a $1,000 deductible.
Below you’ll find the average price drivers are paying for standard insurance coverage in Utah, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner. All of these factors can impact premiums, so be sure to take a look at averages and quotes from drivers similar to you!

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Coverage in Utah

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1CLEARCOVER$1,148
2Progressive$1,209
3Nationwide$1,234
4Safeco$1,487
5State Auto$1,855
6Travelers$2,015

Real Jerry Quotes for Standard Coverage in Utah

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-01-31
  • Jeep Patriot Sport
20 year old maleCLEARCOVER$107.67$239.33
2020-12-16
  • Toyota Camry Xse
  • Chevrolet Camaro Ss
28 year old maleCLEARCOVER$111$149
2021-01-06
  • Nissan Rogue S
39 year old maleNationwide$69.07$64.93
2020-12-09
  • Dodge Stratus Es
  • Honda Civic Si
21 year old maleProgressive$165.33$19.67
2020-12-20
  • Audi A3 Prestige S-line
32 year old maleProgressive$53.67$78.33

Cheapest Car Insurance in Utah for Preferred Coverage

Preferred coverage protects Utah drivers the most against any accidents or theft. Like basic plans, you’ll have collision insurance and comprehensive insurance. This is higher end full coverage, generally with $500 deductibles. That means you’ll be paying less out of pocket in the event of a claim. The downside? Your premiums are likely to be higher than what drivers with standard plans are paying. But if you comparison shop, you can still find the preferred insurance policy that’s less expensive.
We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for preferred insurance coverage in Utah, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your age, your driving record, whether you’re over or under 25 year old, the number of cars your drive, you gender, and if you own a home — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Preferred Coverage in Utah

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1CLEARCOVER$1,196
2Progressive$1,496
3Nationwide$1,567
4State Auto$2,077
5Travelers$2,606

Real Jerry Quotes for Preferred Coverage in Utah

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-01-20
  • Nissan Versa S
23 year old femaleCLEARCOVER$99.33$100.67
2021-01-17
  • Gmc Terrain Sle
42 year old maleCLEARCOVER$71.17$52.83
2021-01-06
  • Toyota Rav4 Le
22 year old femaleCLEARCOVER$133.50$66.50
2021-01-28
  • Dodge Durango Slt
  • Hyundai Elantra Gls
33 year old femaleNationwide$154.79$34.21
2020-12-05
  • Hyundai Sonata Se
  • Toyota Corolla L
30 year old maleTravelers$213.17$86.83
Insurance companyAverage annual premium in Utah
CLEARCOVER$1,588.30
Progressive$1,472.74
Nationwide$1,714.37
Gainsco$1,468.22
Bristol West$1,891.50
Travelers$1,977.71
Safeco$2,024
State Auto$2,000.79
Metlife$1,927.50
Kemper$935

Cost to Insure Different Cars in Utah

Auto insurance companies look into several different factors when coming up with their rates. A big one is what state you’re in — which is why it’s so important for Utah drivers to compare their rates to people in the same state. The car you drive can be a big factor as well. No matter what town, city, or country you live in, certain cars are just going to cost you more in coverage than others. Check out our chart to find out how much different cars cost to insure in Utah. And you can use our table of real quotes from Jerry.ai customers to see what people just like you are paying.
Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2021-01-24
  • Toyota C-hr Xle
23 year old maleCLEARCOVER$52.17$155.83Basic
2021-02-19
  • Nissan Altima 2.5
21 year old femaleCLEARCOVER$72.67$135.33Basic
2021-01-03
  • Mazda 3 Sport
25 year old maleProgressive$89.17$29.83Preferred
2020-12-13
  • Volkswagen Jetta S
21 year old maleCLEARCOVER$53.50$74.50Basic
2021-02-03
  • Hyundai Elantra Se
22 year old maleProgressive$82.83$82.17Basic
2021-01-17
  • Nissan Altima S
28 year old maleCLEARCOVER$65.17$228.83Standard
2020-12-23
  • Kia Optima Sx
38 year old femaleCLEARCOVER$79$134Preferred

Car Insurance Laws in Utah

Utah’s population has increased by 64 percent since the early 1980s, and the number of miles driven has more than doubled. Those figures far outpace the highway construction in the state, leading to some of the most congested roads in the country outside of New York and Los Angeles. And when traffic congestion is so prevalent, it follows that car accidents are bound to increase, not to mention car insurance rates.
Like other states, Utah governs the minimum amount of car insurance required by its residents to keep them safe as possible. If you live and drive in Utah, here’s what you should know about the minimum auto insurance coverage requirements and registration information in the state.

What Car Insurance Is Required by Law in Utah?

Before a vehicle can be registered with the state of Utah, an insurance policy has to be in place with minimum coverages. In a traffic stop or accident, the driver needs to provide proof of insurance or proof of financial responsibility with minimum coverages of Bodily Injury Liability (BIL), Property Damage Liability (PDL), and Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage.
As a no-fault state, any damages sustained in a collision are typically charged to each involved driver’s individual insurance policy, regardless of who’s at fault in the car accident. No-fault insurance is intended to make it easier to access much-needed compensation for injuries and property damage as a result of a collision, rather than tying up the court system awaiting judgments.
Since Utah is a no-fault state, drivers are required to have PIP insurance as part of their policy. PIP provides access to a minimum $3,000 to compensate for injuries sustained by the driver and their passengers. This can be used for ambulances, medications, doctor visits, and other medical expenses.
In addition, PDL coverage pays for property damage that occurred as a result of the accident. That property can be almost anything, including stationary vehicles and bikes, buildings, telephone poles, and more.
BIL coverage is also mandatory in Utah. Even though it’s a no-fault state, you must still maintain insurance to pay for injuries other people have suffered if you caused the accident. Coverages are the same as PIP insurance, although the limits are different.
Drivers should also consider some optional coverage in Utah, including uninsured motorist coverage. Should the other driver not have insurance, your policy would cover you for your injuries and vehicle damages with higher limits than PIP.

Can You Drive a Car without Insurance in Utah?

Driving without proof of insurance can carry severe penalties in the state of Utah as it’s a Class B misdemeanor. If convicted, your vehicle registration and driver’s license can be suspended and the driver assessed a minimum fine of $400 for the first offense. Subsequent offenses are a minimum $1,000 fine.
To reinstate vehicle registration, a $100 reinstatement fee is required along with evidence of ownership, picture ID, and proof of insurance coverage. An insurance card is sometimes enough, although an SR-22 certificate may be made mandatory. The Department of Public Safety must receive proof of that security for a three-year period.

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Utah?

Understandably, Utah requires that resident drivers keep a minimum amount of car insurance active on their vehicles at all times. This affords protection for the driver as well as other occupants and other motorists on Utah’s busy streets for any potential injuries or property damage as a result of a collision. To meet the requirements to legally drive in Utah, you must carry these minimum coverages.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Utah
  • Personal injury protection coverage: $3,000
  • Bodily injury liability coverage per person: $25,000
  • Bodily injury liability coverage per accident: $65,000
  • Property damage liability per accident: $15,000

Car Registration Information in Utah

After a vehicle has been insured, the owner must then register the vehicle with the state. If you’re moving to Utah, you have 60 days to transfer your registration in-state.
To initially register a car in Utah, a vehicle identification number (VIN) check is required. Depending on your vehicle’s age, a safety inspection and smog check could also be mandatory before registration can be completed.
Once you’ve successfully completed the registration process, you’ll be issued Utah license plates for the front and rear of your vehicle along with expiry decals and a registration certificate. Every year when you renew your registration, a new “year” decal must be installed on the license plate.
Initial registration is done in-person at the DMV office and initial registration fees are collected at the time. They include Utah sales tax if not previously paid as well as the first year’s registration fee.
Renewals are a little different. You can renew your registration online. If an inspection is required to renew, you can visit an On The SPOT station where they complete your inspection, renew your registration, and provide a new plate decal in one stop. Registration fees are assigned based on your vehicle weight and type, county, and other factors.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies