Car Insurance in Alaska

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in Alaska.
  • How much does it car insurance cost in Alaska?
  • How much does it car insurance cost in Alaska?
  • How much does car insurance cost in your city?
  • How Much is Car Insurance in Alaska?
  • Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in Alaska
  • The Cheapest Car Insurance in Alaska
  • Most Popular Insurance Companies in Alaska
  • Cost to Insure Different Cars in Alaska
  • Car Insurance Laws in Alaska
  • What Car Insurance Is Required in Alaska?
  • Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance in Alaska?
  • What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Alaska?
  • Car Registration Information in Alaska

Here’s what Jerry customers are paying for car insurance in Alaska.

Quote DateMake/modelcityAgeCarrierCoverage Type
Before Jerry
After Jerry
April 1, 2021Ford Fusion SESoldotna23ProgressiveCustom$189$130

How much does it car insurance cost in Alaska?

All Coverage Before Jerry
All Coverage After Jerry
Minimum Coverage Before Jerry
Minimum Coverage After Jerry
Full Coverage Before Jerry
Full Coverage After Jerry
National Average$2,861$1,409$2,862$1,139$3,799$1,753

How much does it car insurance cost in Alaska?

Insurance Company
Before Jerry
After Jerry

How much does car insurance cost in your city?

City
Before Jerry
After Jerry

BELOW ARE OLD CONTENT
Looking for car insurance in Alaska? Here you’ll find all the information you need on driving a car in The Last Frontier, regardless of what kind of car you own, what your budget is, or what kind of driver you are. Whether you live in Anchorage or Fairbanks, Juneau or Sitka — you can read on for the cheapest car insurance, the best car insurance, and the laws you need to know for Alaska car insurance.

How Much is Car Insurance in Alaska?

Why do car insurance quotes differ by state? First of all, each state has different laws around what kind of coverage you need to legally drive. Insurance companies also look at the number of car accidents and thefts in an area, how much people are generally using their car, and how likely an area is to have a natural disaster, among other factors. But while you can’t always control where you live, you can get cheap car insurance by choosing an insurance policy that has the best rates for your needs. If you live in Alaska, here’s what you should know about how much you’ll pay for insurance: On average, drivers in Alaska pay ${averageAnnualPremium} each year for car insurance. This means drivers in Alaska pay ${averageAnnualDiff} the average for the rest of the country. But however much you pay, you can use our advice on this page to save money.

What’s Your Rate?

But how do you know what policy is right for you in Alaska? The truth is that insurance companies take many different factors into account when coming up with your quote. They create a profile based not only on where you live in Alaska, but also on your credit score, marital status, the kind of car you own, and much more.
Not only does your profile change what kind of price you’ll get on car insurance, but it also might change the kind of coverage you want! Not all tiers are the same, and it’s important to know what you’re looking for. You could save money on your monthly or yearly insurance premiums by having a higher deductible. But if you do get into an accident or need to file a claim, that choice will cause you to pay more out of pocket.
The best way to make sure you’re always getting the best coverage for the right price is to let us do all the legwork for you. We can compare quotes from over 40 different insurance companies and find you the best rates in 45 seconds — no matter what kind of coverage you’re looking for.

Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in Alaska

CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2021-02-17
  • Nissan Pathfinder S
32 year old maleBristol West$50.58$83.42Basic

The Cheapest Car Insurance in Alaska

Which companies offer cheap car insurance in Alaska? Below, we’ve ranked Alaska car insurance companies based on which ones have, on average, the cheapest car insurance quotes for basic, standard, and preferred coverage levels for different profiles. These are averages to give you a sense of what drivers in your state are paying. But remember — it’s impossible to know what your quotes will be until you start comparing for yourself. That’s why we’re also showing you some real quotes we were able to find for our members recently. If you shop for insurance wisely, you can get a great deal without sacrificing your own safety and protection.

Cheapest Car Insurance in Alaska for Basic Coverage

There’s all kinds of auto insurance you can get in Alaska, depending on what your priorities are. But if your priority is the least expensive premium payments, you’ll want to check out a basic plan. In most states you legally need car insurance to drive. Basic plans ensure that you have the minimum coverage required by Alaska. These are also plans with liability-only coverage. We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for basic insurance coverage in Alaska, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Basic Coverage in Alaska

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium

Real Jerry Quotes for Basic Coverage in Alaska

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-02-17
  • Nissan Pathfinder S
32 year old maleBristol West$50.58$83.42

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Plans in Alaska

Most drivers will want more than the basic minimum coverage that Alaska requires — but still don’t want to break the bank. Standard plans offer both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance which gives you more protection than a basic plan. These plans generally offer a $1,000 deductible.
Below you’ll find the average price drivers are paying for standard insurance coverage in Alaska, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner. All of these factors can impact premiums, so be sure to take a look at averages and quotes from drivers similar to you!

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Coverage in Alaska

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium

Real Jerry Quotes for Standard Coverage in Alaska

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved

Cheapest Car Insurance in Alaska for Preferred Coverage

Preferred coverage protects Alaska drivers the most against any accidents or theft. Like basic plans, you’ll have collision insurance and comprehensive insurance. This is higher end full coverage, generally with $500 deductibles. That means you’ll be paying less out of pocket in the event of a claim. The downside? Your premiums are likely to be higher than what drivers with standard plans are paying. But if you comparison shop, you can still find the preferred insurance policy that’s less expensive.
We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for preferred insurance coverage in Alaska, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your age, your driving record, whether you’re over or under 25 year old, the number of cars your drive, you gender, and if you own a home — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Preferred Coverage in Alaska

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium

Real Jerry Quotes for Preferred Coverage in Alaska

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
Insurance companyAverage annual premium in Alaska

Cost to Insure Different Cars in Alaska

Auto insurance companies look into several different factors when coming up with their rates. A big one is what state you’re in — which is why it’s so important for Alaska drivers to compare their rates to people in the same state. The car you drive can be a big factor as well. No matter what town, city, or country you live in, certain cars are just going to cost you more in coverage than others. Check out our chart to find out how much different cars cost to insure in Alaska. And you can use our table of real quotes from Jerry.ai customers to see what people just like you are paying.
Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2021-02-17
  • Nissan Pathfinder S
32 year old maleBristol West$50.58$83.42Basic

Car Insurance Laws in Alaska

The state of Alaska requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. These laws are designed to protect them and their passengers if they find themselves in an accident in America’s most northern state. Here are the car insurance laws in Alaska.

What Car Insurance Is Required in Alaska?

In Alaska, licensed drivers operating a registered motor vehicle are required to have a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage on their vehicle, including Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage. Instead of Personal Injury Protection, also known as PIP insurance, which is not offered in Alaska, drivers can instead opt to get MedPay, which helps pay for medical bills that arise from a car accident.
Alaska is what’s called an at-fault state, which means that the insurance company of the driver who is at fault for an accident is the one that pays for any medical bills or property damage suffered by the other party in a car accident.
When it comes to paying for any lost wages due to an accident, instead of PIP coverage, which is how no-fault states pay for this lost time at work, the at-fault driver’s liability insurance (or your uninsured motorist coverage if the at-fault driver is not insured) pays for any lost wages.
PDL coverage pays for any property damage done by the at-fault driver’s vehicle in a car accident, including any other cars involved or objects, such as a fence, pole, or building. PDL coverage also extends to family members and other people that you give permission to drive your car
When you’re at fault for a motor vehicle accident in Alaska, your BIL coverage pays for the other party’s medical expenses and lost wages. Of course, this is only up to your coverage limit. So, anything over that amount you will have to pay for yourself.
Another type of insurance, called Underinsured/Uninsured Motorist coverage, helps you out if the other motorist is either underinsured or not insured at all. This type of insurance covers your medical bills and property damage if the at-fault driver does not carry enough insurance, or no insurance. And while this coverage is not mandatory, insurance companies in Alaska are required to offer it.

Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance in Alaska?

If you want to register and drive a car in Alaska, you must have the required auto insurance coverage. Failure to carry this coverage could result in the suspension of your driver’s license for 90 days to a year (depending on if it is the first offense or not), as well as having your vehicle impounded.
Other penalties include a $500 fine for the first and each subsequent offense. The time period for which your license is suspended is also a year for each offense after the first. If you’re in an accident and have no insurance, then you can lose your license for up to three years.
In addition to having your driver’s license suspended, you will have to file for an SR-22 certificate with your insurance company in order to get your license back. An SR-22 certificate shows that you’re covered with the required amount of insurance according to Alaska law. You must keep an SR-22 certificate, and the associated higher insurance costs that go along with it, for at least three years after getting your driver’s license back.

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Alaska?

The minimum amount of insurance coverage that you need to own and drive a vehicle in Alaska depends in large part on where you live. In some areas, where you are not required to register your vehicle, you do not have to carry insurance at all. However, if you receive traffic violations that result in six or more points being added to your driving record during the previous five years, you do need to carry liability insurance.
To meet the minimum insurance requirements in Alaska, you must carry the minimum coverage amounts listed below:
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Alaska
  • Bodily injury/per person/per accident: $50,000
  • Bodily injury/per accident: $100,000
  • Property damage liability: 25,000

Car Registration Information in Alaska

In addition to insurance, you must also register your vehicle to lawfully drive it in Alaska. Any driver working or trying to establish residency in the state must apply for registration of their vehicle within 10 days of moving to or taking a job in Alaska.
When you register a vehicle in Alaska, you do so for a two-year period. When you first register your vehicle, you will receive a license plate for the front and back of your vehicle. You will also receive two decals for the rear license plate, one with the month and one with the year you need to renew your registration.
The fees to register your vehicle costs an initial registration fee of $100 for passenger cars and vans or trucks less than 10,000 pounds. There is also a $10 fee if you walk in to one of the Alaska DMV locations to renew your registration. Some areas also charge a Motor Vehicle Registration Tax. You can visit the Alaska DMV website to determine what fees you need to pay. Renewing your registration also costs $100 plus the applicable fees and taxes.
You can register your vehicle in Alaska in three different ways: in person, by mail, or online. To register in person, you can go to one of the many DMV office locations across the state. To register online, visit the Alaska DMV website. You can also register by mail, but keep in mind the process takes about six weeks, so give yourself time to make sure you get your decal before your current registration expires.
To register your vehicle in Alaska, you will need the following documents and information:
  • Alaska driver’s license
  • Vehicle registration—this also contains your vehicle identification number (VIN)
  • Proof of car insurance (DMV checks all of this electronically)
  • Current license plate (if replacing it)
  • Certificate of title (if you own the vehicle)

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies